Spinach, Onions and Bacon Frittata

Spinach, Onion and Bacon Frittata

Spinach, Onions and Bacon Frittata

I had the most difficult time deciding on a recipe for my “monthly” installment of Everyday Food.  The issue I am using is No. 79 “the light issue”.  I don’t have a problem making light food.  I actually enjoy all kinds of light food.  For some reason, nothing appealed to me or it was something I had already blogged/talked about before.

I have made Chicken Fried Rice,  Sweet and Sour Chicken,  Hummus,  Scones.  (similar recipes were in the issue) And on and on…so after much flipping and re-flipping I finally decided to make: Spinach, Onion and Bacon Frittata.  Even though my husband is not a big fan of Frittata or Quiche or egg casserole…etc..  Tell me why we have chickens again?  For the eggs, right?  But since I rarely make Frittatas, I thought it would be a lovely change to our menu.  Of course, I decided to make this on a night he wasn’t home…why?  Because I am a people pleaser, wouldn’t you know it?  😉

yummilicious Frittata!

yummilicious Frittata!

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 small onion thinly sliced (about 1 cup)

2 cups frozen spinach (from two 10-ounce packages) thawed and squeezed dry

Coarse salt and ground pepper

8 large eggs

1/2 cup cooked crumbled bacon (about 5 slices)

 How to:

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees F.  In a 10-inch ovenproof nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium-high.  Add your onion and spinach, season with salt and pepper, and cook until onion is translucent, about 5 minutes.

Add eggs and bacon, season with salt and pepper and stir to combine.  Cook, undisturbed, until edges are set, about 2 minutes.  Transfer skillet to oven and bake until top of frittata is just set, 10-13 minutes.  Invert or slide frittata onto a plate and cut into 6 wedges.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

getting all the key notes in the pan!

getting all the key notes in the pan!

ready for the oven, see how the sides are just starting to set

ready for the oven, see how the sides are just starting to set

don't overcook this...you don't want to eat rubber!

don’t overcook this…you don’t want to eat rubber!

slice it up any way you to!

slice it up any way you want!

A nice green salad is the perfect companion for this creamy dish.

I decided on a nice arugula salad tossed with EVOO & red wine vinegar and some parmesan shaving...perfect match to my frittata

I decided on a nice arugula salad tossed with EVOO & red wine vinegar and some parmesan shaving…perfect match to my frittata

I love Frittata especially because you can substitute with whatever you have on hand.  It’s a great way to clean up your fridge.

Note: I didn’t have frozen spinach so I opted for 4 cups of fresh spinach and let it wilt with my onions….there you have it, easy substitution!

Another Note: I had 7 pieces of bacon not 5 (as suggested) don’t go calling the bacon police on me.  I mean what am I going to do with 2 pieces of bacon sitting in my fridge!  No one got hurt with the excess bacon!

Another Extra Note: I decided to add a little bit of fresh herbs to my Frittata: 1 teaspoon each: thyme, rosemary and marjoram…feel free to call the herb police on me…I am reckless! 😉

one last look....please forgive me for all the notes ;)

one last look….please forgive me for all the notes😉

Other options:

Potato-Leek (1 leek: white and light green parts + 2 cups cooked potatoes + ½ cup ricotta)

Ham, Zucchini and Gruyère (1 cup chopped ham + 2 small zucchini, thinly sliced + ½ cup grated Gruyère)

Tomato, Scallion and Cheddar (1 bunch scallions thinly sliced + 2 cups grape tomatoes + ½ cup grated cheddar)

Printer Friendly: Spinach, Onion and Bacon Frittata

Peace and Get Creative,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Spinach, Onions and Bacon Frittata

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip, Oatmeal and Pecan Cookies | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

