Buttermilk Biscuits

Buttermilk Biscuits

Buttermilk Biscuits

The best biscuits I have ever had in my entire life (a fun-filled 43 years so far!) were at The Loveless Cafe in Nashville Tn.  The Loveless Cafe is very well renowned for their biscuits.  The biscuits (and the restaurant) have been on TV more than once.  Even Mrs Stewart invited the biscuit lady: Ms Carol Fay to her show.  I purchased the dry biscuit mix from The Loveless Cafe, sadly they didn’t quite turn out the way I wanted them.  I have tried several biscuit recipes over the years.  Some worked pretty well, for example Bobby Flay’s Black Pepper Biscuits which I served with my Sunday Night Pot Roast.  Unfortunately they aren’t breakfast “I love the South” type biscuits.

I found a recipe in my favorite Saveur Magazine issue ( Saveur No. 153 ) the recipe makes enough for a small army.  I don’t want a mountain of biscuits lying around my house.  Using the 2 important techniques I found in this recipe, I adapted it to turn out 8 lovely biscuits.

#1. Do not overwork your dough.  Once everything is combined leave it alone.

#2. Freezing the butter and using a box grater to incorporate the butter into your flour mixture.  Gently combining the butter and the flour with your hands.  Do not overwork this step.  The heat from your hand could easily melt the butter.  Melted or soft butter doesn’t turn out flaky biscuits!

Gorgeous lovely Biscuits make me happy!

Gorgeous lovely Biscuits make me happy!

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tablespoon kosher salt

2 1/2 tablespoons sugar

1/2 tablespoon baking powder

8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen

3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk

1 tablespoon honey (or agave syrup if you prefer)

How to:

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone mat.  Set aside.

Heat oven to 400 degrees F.  Whisk flour, salt, sugar, and baking powder in a bowl.  Using a box grater, grate 5 tablespoons butter into flour mixture, and gently mix with your hands.  Add buttermilk, and gently fold to combine to form a soft dough.

grated frozen butter....who knew?!

grated frozen butter….who knew?!

Turn dough onto a floured surface, work the dough with your hand to incorporate everything.  Do not overwork your dough.  Pat or roll into a 1-inch thick disk.  Cut into 8 squares or using a round cutter cut into 8 circles.  Place on your prepared baking sheet.  Bake in your preheated oven for about 12-15 minutes.  Melt remaining 3 tablespoons butter in a small pan; mix with the honey.  Brush over hot biscuits; return to oven until golden brown, about 5-8 minutes more.

do not panic even if your dough seems not perfectly combined, it will bake perfectly

do not panic even if your dough seems not perfectly combined, it will bake perfectly

yes...my 8th biscuit is sad looking...happens!

yes…my 8th biscuit is sad looking…happens!

when sweet butter hits the biscuits...magical!

when sweet butter hits the biscuits…magical!

fresh out of the oven smelling wonderful

fresh out of the oven smelling wonderful

Look at this delightful inside!

Look at this dreamy inside!

Simple, buttery, flaky, lightly sweetened by the honey butter, wonderful crust and EASY….really easy to make!

Matt wasn’t home to enjoy the biscuits, which meant we had some leftovers…3 to be exact.  I decided to make Egg McBiscuit for lunch.  The girls LOVED them.  The combination of the creamy egg, the salty bacon, the sharpness of the cheddar and the sweetness of the biscuits was simply flawless.

Egg McBiscuit by McNerdy!

Egg McBiscuit by McNerdy!

first bite might cause a picture perfect explosion

first bite might cause a picture-perfect explosion

Printer Friendly: Buttermilk Biscuits

Peace and Biscuits,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. I’ve never found a biscuit recipe that makes me completely happy, but this one looks like it might do the trick. Can’t wait to try this…maybe with some hearty Irish stew! Mmmm.

  2. I can’t help but love biscuits.
    I still get irritated with myself if I buy canned ones because I might be in a hurry to make a specific recipe.
    Still haven’t figured out if a biscuit is a vehicle for butter, or if butter is a vehicle for a biscuit. All I know is this recipe looks wonderful, and it’s been saved! Thank you!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

