Orange-Walnut Olive Oil Cake with Sweet Yogurt

Orange-Walnut Olive Oil Cake with

Orange-Walnut Olive Oil Cake with Sweet Yogurt

My husband and I have been researching food…not in the sense of new food to eat, cook or bake with but more what food does to your body.  For example, some food has natural anti-inflammatory benefits: Tumeric is one.  We are forever intrigued with using natural resources to cure any ailment our family might have.  I hate taking medications, it is against everything I believe.  I don’t like the side effects or the possibility of more damage without an actual cure.  We have been looking for books at our local library, there are plenty out there to keep us busy during the ugly winter months!

As you know, I love making everything from scratch.  Yes, I am the annoying mom who makes the granola bars, the bread, I love to make dinner every night…blah blah blah…I know this is not for everyone, but it’s for me.  That’s the way I grew up.  I never had take-out until I was in college and my roommate Helen informed me of a world I had been missing….my mom was also the crazy lady who even made her own egg rolls, fried rice and sweet and sticky spareribs .  I am not saying you should make everything from scratch, I am simply suggesting that we need to worry more about what we put in our bodies before we head to the doctor for some medicine to feel better.  Yes, I am getting off my soap box…simply because I have a great recipe to share with you 😉

During this little research I found a lovely recipe.  I thought it would be a nice treat for the family since we have been eating lots of good “green healthy” food lately and very little sweets.  Turns out this recipe is amazing.  I decided I should share it with you as well.

I love this cake, and I think it happens to be quite photogenic!

I love this cake, and I think it happens to be quite photogenic!

From: Power Foods  from the editors of Living Well Magazine.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup olive oil, plus more for pan

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, (spooned and leveled), plus more for pan

1 cup walnuts

1 tablespoon freshly grated orange zest, plus more for garnish

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

1 cup packed light-brown sugar

3/4 cup fresh orange juice

Confectioners’ sugar, for garnish

1 cup low-fat Greek yogurt

2 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar

How to:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Brush cake pan with oil, line bottom with parchment; oil and flour parchment and pan.  Place walnuts in food processor and pulse until finely ground (be careful not to overprocess); set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together orange zest, flour, baking powder, salt, and ground walnuts.  Make a well in the center of flour mixture and stir in eggs, brown sugar, orange juice, and oil until just moistened; do not overmix.

nothing pleases me more than not using my mixer...going old school!

nothing pleases me more than not using my mixer…going old school!

gently mixing, gorgeous amber color!

gently mixing, I love the gorgeous amber color!

mix no more....you have arrived!

mix no more….you have arrived!

Pour batter into prepared pan and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean, 40 to 45 minutes.  Let cool in pan 10 minutes; transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

ready, set, bake

ready, set, bake

my house smells like heaven! Look at this perfect little cake!

my house smells like heaven! Look at this perfect little cake!

I had to give you a side view...absolutely stunning!

I had to give you a side view…absolutely stunning!

In a small bowl, stir together yogurt and confectioners’ sugar.  Before serving, dust cake with confectioners’ sugar.  Serve with sweet yogurt garnished with orange zest, if desired.

Time to treat yourself!

Time to treat yourself!

Note: This dessert is all about happiness.  Not just the taste but because it’s loaded with vitamins B12 (from the yogurt) and C (orange juice), folate (OJ, again), and omega-3 fatty acids (walnuts).  Nutrients shown to boost your mood.  🙂

Printer Friendly: Orange-Walnut Olive Oil Cake with Sweet Yogurt

Peace and Happiness Always,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Orange-Walnut Olive Oil Cake with Sweet Yogurt

  1. Isabelle, your healthy, photogenic cake couldn’t possibly be packed with more great reasons to eat it. Truthfully, I was convinced just looking at the pictures! I also agree with you on old school mixing. 🙂

  2. Your cake looks divine! I look forward to trying out the recipe. Also I will tell you I’m a huge advocate for being aware of what you eat. I was recently having issues with anxiety and after refusing anti-depressants and anxiety medicine I looked into possible food causes and it turned out that I am extremely sensitive to MSG. Through my research I found out it was in so many foods I was eating, once I eliminated a lot of those foods my anxiety got better and better. It really pays to be aware of what we put in our bodies! I bet your cake would help my anxiety with all those mood lifting walnuts! 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

