Chocolate Drop Cookies

Chocolate Drop Cookies

Chocolate Drop Cookies

As you know I like to judge cookbooks and people by their cookie recipes.  I know it’s completely crazy.  Let’s be honest, if you give me a crappy cookie, well, I am sorry we just can’t be friends.  🙂  OK, this might be a slight exaggeration on my part but I do value a good cookie recipe and I will do just about anything to get a recipe if I think it will make me look good.

This recipe comes from the lovely cookbook Mad Hungry: Feeding Men & Boys by the ever so talented Lucinda Scala Quinn.  Little known fact: I have somewhat of a healthy (?) obsession with Mrs Scala Quinn.  I try to keep it low key because I don’t want to spook her and have her running for the hills hiding from me.  I casually follow her on Instagram.  I nicely like most of what she pins on Pinterest.  I’ve googled her.  I have Youtubed her (yep…new verb: to youtube someone!)  I read all her status updates on Facebook, trying not to like too many so I don’t freak her out….so you get it…it’s a HEALTHY obsession.

Mad Hungry: feeding Men & Boys by Lucinda Scala Quinn

Mad Hungry: feeding Men & Boys by Lucinda Scala Quinn

Note: She is also friends with Martha Stewart….I mean Mrs Stewart! I ❤ them both more and more….her cookie recipe is lovely (as expected) so we can remain friends…it’s a one sided friendship but I can deal with it.

Lovely soft chewy chocolaty cookies!

Lovely soft chewy chocolaty cookies!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon coarse salt

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup sugar

1  large egg, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted

1/2 cup shredded coconut (optional)

1/3 cup milk (low-fat is OK)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter or line 2 rimmed baking sheets.  Set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar.  Beat in the egg and vanilla.  Blend in the melted chocolate and coconut, if desired.  Alternately add the flour mixture and milk, ending with the flour.  Drop dough by teaspoonfuls onto the baking sheets 1 inch apart.  Bake for 10 to 15 minutes, until the edges are set and the centers are still soft.  Remove to a cooling rack.

getting all my ducks in a row...or cookies :)

getting all my ducks in a row…or cookies 🙂

these bad boys spread quite a bit, glad I left enough room!

these bad boys spread quite a bit, glad I left enough room!

Note: I baked mine for 12 minutes and they were perfect.  Also the recipe said it makes 24-30 cookies I had about 36…maybe I made mine too small.

three lovely cookies for me (eh...that rhymed!)

three lovely cookies for me (eh…that rhymed! sort of)

These cookies are super delicious and soft.  The girls called them Brownie Cookies.  I love the coconut in the cookies, it give a little bit more texture to each bites!

Printed Friendly: Chocolate Drop Cookies

Peace and One Sided Friendships,

Isabelle

Recipe linked up here:

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Drop Cookies

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

