A Two Door Post

I had big plans…big big plans for this week.  I’ve spent most of it in bed.  Sick!  Really Really Sick!  I wanted to bake, cook, invent, re-invent, be the master of my kitchen.  Finally out from under the Christmas decorations and the Holiday Grog, I was aiming high!  What I got instead was the stomach flu.  And this puppy hit me like a ton of bricks, like a giant semi or a freight train.  You get the idea.  So I haven’t baked, I haven’t cooked, I haven’t even really been in the kitchen except to look for some pity from my family.  So as I sit here trying to join the land of the living, little by little, I thought I should share 2 new door projects we finished in our home!

Truth is, I am still so nauseated, I can’t stand the thought of talking about food….and if you know anything about me then you know I must really be sick if I don’t want to talk about food!

Project No 1. The Kitchen Pantry Door.

I saw this idea on Pinterest (where my husband informed me I spend HOURS daily) Using a barn type door as a pantry door on rollers.  It really could work for any door in your home but you will need wall space to do so.  You need space to slide that big boy.  You can buy an old door or make one (which Mr. Man did).  Ours is made with hickory and stained with Minwax in Golden Pecan.  I wanted to keep the look as natural and rustic as possible.  Here is a little pictorial for your enjoyment 🙂

This is our original pantry door. Simple, functional and boring!

This is our original pantry door. Simple, functional and boring!

this was the problem with the door, if someone was sitting at the table you hit them with the door!

this was the problem with the door, if someone was sitting at the table you hit them with the door!

New Super COOL door! I love it!

New Super COOL door! I love it!

Simply slide it open! Easy and functional!

Simply slide it open! Easy and functional!

I love the hardware, the company carries different finishes but I went with black!

I love the hardware, the company carries different finishes but I went with black!

I love the beautiful natural look of the wood

I am so happy we kept the beautiful natural look of the wood

Here is who made the rollers (but we bought them on Ebay instead): Rustica Hardware

Project No 2. Chalk Paint for the garage door. 

This project happened while I was somewhat dying on Monday (OK, OK, not dying but it sure felt like it!)  Matt started painting and the girls said: “umm, Dad, Mom wanted the other side painted.  Not the side inside the house but the side in the garage itself”.  Moment of panic aside, Matt came to me and asked.  He was doing the side I asked.  I did debate on which side, but ultimately I wanted to walk by and see the fun things we could write on it.  I wasn’t mistaken.  It only took a day and it started.  I love it!  I am not entirely certain what all the messages mean but we still communicate and that’s cool!

Easy project for anyone...be sure to use a good primer! 2 coats of chalk paint is also a must!

Easy project for anyone…be sure to use a good primer! 2 coats of chalk paint is also a must!

Luke I am your father? What? Which spoon is too big??? Oh my...this could get interesting!

Luke, I am your father? What? Which spoon is too big??? Oh my…this could get interesting!

Note: from what I understand you can now have chalk paint in any color you want.  I went with black because it seems to work well around here but it could be a fun colorful project for a kid’s room!  Our Sunshine does have a chalk wall in her bedroom, it is also black which goes nicely with the violent purple on the other walls!!!  Needless to say with my sad stomach I haven’t been in her room in days!  😉

Well, that is all the energy I have.  Going back to take another nap….it’s only my 5th or 10th one today!  I was told: rest, rest, rest…for once in my life I am only happy to obey!

Peace and Love,

Isabelle from under the covers!

6 thoughts on “A Two Door Post

  1. Isabelle, that is the coolest pantry door re-do — what a fabulous idea! Accolades to Mr. Man for his handiwork. Loved the “chalk board” door, too — lol at the messages on it. 😉 Hope you’re feeling better soon — please take care.

  2. Glad you’re on the road to recovery.

    Both “door projects” are cool. The chalk-door will be a good reminder for what you need to take with you when you’re heading out the door 🙂

  3. Wow! I love that pantry door! We just found out this weekend that our offer got accepted on a house so I’m all about looking for home decor ideas and I really like this one!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

