Sesame Beef

OK.  I failed.  I missed December and my Everyday Food “commitment”.  So….I owe you a recipe from the lovely magazines that sadly sits on my shelf and stares at me, begging to be utilized!  I decided to try the sesame beef, one because I love Asian food and second after the gluttony that went on here during the holiday, we certainly could use something light and figure friendly!

Sesame Beef from Everyday Food

Sesame Beef from Everyday Food

My whole family loves when I make stir-fry, but I usually go the “cheap” route and use chicken.  I thought this would be a nice change.  It certainly was.  Not only did they gobble it up in a flash but we had no leftovers!  Nothing.  All gone!  AND they requested I make it again.  VERY SOON…wow…they are quite a feisty bunch!

Everyday Food December 2010 issue #78

ready? I am....I am still craving this dish!

ready? I am….I am still craving this dish!

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons dry sherry

1 tablespoon sugar

2 teaspoons rice vinegar

1/2 teaspoon red-pepper flakes

1/2 teaspoon cornstarch

1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon vegetable oil

3/4 pound boneless New York strip steak, thinly sliced (honestly, I had about 1.25lb of steak and it worked fine)

2 red bell peppers, ribs and seeds removed, thinly sliced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tablespoon sesame seeds, toasted

Cooked rice, for serving

Thinly sliced scallions greens (optional), for serving

How to:

In a small bowl, combine soy sauce, sherry, sugar, vinegar, red-pepper flakes, and cornstarch.  In a large skillet, heat 1 tablespoon oil over medium-high.  In two batches, cook meat, undisturbed, until browned on one side, about 2 minutes per batch.  Transfer to a plate.

Add 1 teaspoon oil and bell peppers to skillet and cook, stirring, until peppers are crisp-tender, 2 minutes.  Add garlic and cook until fragrant, 30 seconds.  Whisk soy sauce mixture and add to skillet, along with steak.  Cook, stirring, until sauce thickens, 1 minute.  Stir in sesame seeds.  To serve, spoon beef mixture over rice and top with scallion greens if desired.

to make slicing easier you can freeze your meat for an hour or so...much easier unless you have a super duper knife!

to make slicing easier you can freeze your meat for an hour or so…much easier unless you have a super duper knife!

once you add the sauce...OMG the smell is amazing!

once you add the sauce…OMG the smell is amazing!

This was so delicious and easy to make.  The only thing I would suggest is that you get all your prep work done ahead of time.  This recipe goes pretty fast once you start cooking so be ready.  I had my steak sliced, pepper sliced, sauce mixed, sesame seeds toasted…etc…everything in bowls/plates ready to hit the pan!

delicious meal, this would also be very easy to use with chicken or pork, I wouldn't change a thing but the meat

delicious meal, this would also be very easy to use with chicken or pork, I wouldn’t change a thing but the meat

Printer Friendly:  Sesame Beef

Peace and Fail,

Isabelle

Older Everyday Food Posts:

September: Sweet & Sour Chicken with Sesame Noodles

October: Apple and Sour Cream Coffee Cake

November: Linguini with Lemon Cream Sauce

December: …. yep nothing because I was overwhelmed, tired and dropped the ball…yay me!

Recipe also on Linky Party below:

10 thoughts on “Sesame Beef

  1. Undisturbed cooking is the best. 🙂 Hope your schedule relaxes a bit, but thank heavens for stir fry! This looks, sounds, smells (yes, I can smell it all the way over year) and undoubtedly TASTES wonderful. Have a great weekend, Isabelle!

  2. Will try this one ! I love EVERYDAY FOOD ! have a few of my go-to recipes from there.
    They have a good cashew chicken,,I have an old, very tattered magazine with a baked fish ( tilapia usually) with tomatoes, black olives and a mayo/parmesan/lemon juice rub… all so easy and yummy! My fav is her eggplant parmesan…
    maybe I will get another subscription now that I think of it,,,, HAVE A GREAT SUB day !
    and a good weekend..
    ak

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Chip, Oatmeal and Pecan Cookies | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

