Whole-Wheat Salted Chocolate Biscotti or Granotti

FYI: This post’s title could be a complete copyright infringement.

Whole-Wheat Salted Chocolate Biscotti/Granotti

Whole-Wheat Salted Chocolate Biscotti/Granotti

I bought some Granotti at a local little Italian market.  Turns out Granotti are whole-wheat Biscotti.  Turns out only this company makes them.  I couldn’t find a single recipe for Granotti online.  (you know how I love to do research before I can dish out a new recipe!)  So I started reasearching whole-wheat Biscotti recipes, and calling them Granotti in my mind.  A lot goes on only in my mind, and it’s a very happy place!

ummm, yes it's empty because I ate them all! :)

ummm, yes it’s empty because I ate them all!🙂

Anyway, I might have to change the name of this post to only Biscotti…although feel free to present them as Granotti  (if you decide to make them and you should because they are awesome).  The fact that these folks unleashed Granotti onto the world is beyond my control.  Do we really need one more word for a food?  Is calling them Whole-wheat Biscotti too much?  Oh heck, Granotti sounds good!

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon sea salt

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter at room temperature

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 “big” cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I would be lying if I said just 1 cup…mine was pretty darn overflowing!)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with a silicone mat or parchment paper.  Set aside.

Combine your flour, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.

In your mixer cream your butter with both sugars until soft and creamy.  Add your eggs one at a time, combine well.  Add your vanilla.  Finally add your flour mixture and combine well.  Do not overmix.  Add your chocolate chips either by hand or mixer.  I chose the mixer because I actually wanted some of the chocolate to break up a little.  Dump (for lack of better word) your dough onto your prepared baking sheet and divide into 2 mounds.  Shape each mound into 2 logs about 1-inch thick and 14-inches long.  Remember this is not a beauty contest so don’t sweat it too much….as you know I didn’t sweat it one bit!

here's the dumping situation!

here’s the situation!

again this is NOT a beauty contest!

again this is NOT a beauty contest!

Bake in your preheated oven for 25 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool for about 5 minutes.  Reduce oven to 300 degrees F.  Using a serrated knife slice your loaves into 1-inch think pieces.  Lay all the pieces on your baking sheet (same as the one before) and bake for 20 more minutes.  Let cool completely and store in an airtight container.

straight from the oven

straight from the oven

slicing...I know it's obvious but I had to ;)

slicing…I know it’s obvious but I had to😉

ready for the second baking

ready for the second baking

visually not much different than the previous pic but done after second baking round!

visually not much different than the previous pic but done after second baking round!

Note: if you are not a fan of whole-wheat well, this might not be the recipe for you.  You could change up the whole-wheat flour and replace some with regular flour…I happen to love the taste of whole-wheat!  Lucky me I guess😉

Crunchy sweet, salty and nutty (from the whole wheat)...so delicious!

Crunchy, sweet, salty and nutty (from the whole wheat)…so delicious!

Printer friendly: Whole-Wheat Salted Chocolate Biscotti

Peace and Granotti,

Isabelle

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

