Bacon and Peanut Butter Chocolate Truffles

Bacon Peanut Butter Chocolate Truffles

Bacon Peanut Butter Chocolate Truffles

You might have thought I had lost my mind when I made my Pepper Bacon Jam.  Well fear not, I am now moving on to a true, over the top, decadence.  It is the Holiday Season after all, time for treats but no tricks!  This is a little surprise I am taking with me when I go to Chicago this weekend.  I am meeting Janine and we are hanging out with our friend Brad.  His partner is in Cali so it’s just the three of us living (well mostly eating) it up in the windy city!  Janine arrived a day before me, she said she had work meetings but somehow her and Brad have been texting me pictures of amazing food they are already eating…I say: “work, smoork”.  Not cool people, not cool!!!!

Even though I am a bit miffed with the two of them for having fun without MOI! (how dare they!)  I like to surprise them with little homemade gifts that we can indulge on over the weekend.  I once saw the two of them killing my Gateau au Chocolat Fondant (flourless chocolate tart)  no plates- just 2 forks…it was a sight!

Recipe from: The Bacon Cookbook by James Villas.  Found: here

Ingredients:

6 slices of bacon (not smoked or flavored in any way, but low-sodium works well)

1/2 cup salted peanuts

1 tablespoon sugar

1/4 cup smooth peanut butter

4 tablespoons butter (at room temp)

6 1-ounce squares semisweet chocolate

1/2 cup cocoa

1-2 tablespoons sea salt (optional, not in original recipe, you might need less, depending on how much you sprinkle on top)

How to:

In a large skillet, fry the bacon over moderate heat till crisp, drain on paper towels, and let cool completely.

In a food processor, combine the bacon, peanuts, and sugar and grind to a fine texture.  Transfer the mixture to a bowl, add the peanut butter, and stir till well blended and smooth.  Cover with plastic wrap and chill about 1 hour.  ***this is a must in order to handle the dough, otherwise you will have a serious mess on your hands!***

the dough...definitely not a very appetizing picture!

the dough…definitely not a very appetizing picture!

Roll the mixture into balls about 1-inch in diameter, place on a baking sheet, cover with plastic wrap, and chill about 30 minutes longer.  ***also a must if you want the balls to look good covered in chocolate, you will notice the heat from your hands will affect the last few balls***

heading in the right direction

heading in the right direction

Meanwhile, combine the butter and chocolate in a small saucepan (I did a double boiler…didn’t trust myself not to burn the chocolate!)  and stir over very low heat until melted and smooth.  Remove from the heat and let cool until warm.  Sift the cocoa into a bowl. (oops I forgot…but I still had it in a bowl!)

the set up, like a well oiled machine (!??)

the set up, like a well-oiled machine (!??)

Coat the balls completely in the melted chocolate, dredge thoroughly in the cocoa, sprinkle with a little sea salt (if using) and store in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

ready to chill!

ready to chill!

Note: you have to work quickly, once you start handling the balls and the warm chocolate “hits” them you will notice they might loose their pizzazz…I stopped halfway and put the rest in the fridge for a few minutes before finishing.  I have to say mine are pretty ugly, I can live with that, they are delicious, decadent and completely over the top!  Just the way I wanted them.

a little imperfection doesn't mean they are not delicious!

a little imperfection doesn’t mean they are not delicious!

Printer Friendly: Bacon and Peanut Butter Chocolate Truffles

Peace and Ugly Pizzazz is still Pizzazz!

Isabelle

Note: when my husband read my post he couldn’t stop laughing at my note above…I call it like it is!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

