Red Gold Giveaway

Giveaway time…why?  Well because the lovely people at Red Gold Tomatoes contacted me and graciously offered for me to try their new and YUMMY tomatoes from the Tuttorosso collection AND offered to send a package to one lucky winner (of the US of A only).

Tuttorosso by Red Gold

Tuttorosso by Red Gold

Here is a little bit of information that I wanted to pass along.

Red Gold (an Indiana favorite!!! which makes the Tuttorosso brand) has been around since the 1940’s.  Red Gold has focused on growing local tomatoes in the Midwest (Indiana, Michigan and Ohio) where true seasons impact the flavor of tomatoes. The Midwest, while it’s cold in the winter, has the perfect growing season for tomatoes, perfect angle of the sun, perfect temps — and even the winter is good for tomatoes, as it breaks up the soil for tiny root systems.

(that’s awesome…evidently not from my silly mouth but good info none the less!!!! I do love my Indiana tomatoes!)

Also from Red Gold Tuttorosso:

They’re giving away premium prizes every day on Facebook at — http://www.facebook.com/tuttorossotomato — through Dec. 22nd (you must register every day for each day’s prize).  Premium prizes for the Tuttorosso Ultimate Daily Giveaway will include items such as Stock Pots by Rachael Ray, Wusthof Knives, Wusthof Sharpener, Rachael Ray Pasta and Salad Bowls, Good Grips Garlic Press, Cheese Rotary Grater by Zyliss, etc.

With these lovely products in mind, I would like to share a couple of recipes that would be delicious with the new Red Gold Tuttorosso Tomatoes.  First a classic:

Eggplant Parmesan...the "ugly" but delicious truth ;)

Eggplant Parmesan…the “ugly” but delicious truth 😉

Eggplant Parmesan

Ingredients:

2 medium to large eggplants

kosher salt (or regular if that is all you have)

1 1/2 cup flour seasoned with salt and pepper

4-5 eggs

2 cups Italian style bread crumbs

1 28-ounce can Tuttorosso Tomato Sauce by Red Gold

1 cup fresh basil chopped or shredded into small pieces

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Parmesan cheese (for serving)

Crushed red pepper flakes (for serving)

How to:

First, slice your eggplant in about 1/2-inch thick slices.  Put them in a large bowl (I had to use 2) and salt each slice with your kosher salt, on both sides. You will need about 1/2 teaspoon per slice.  Let this rest at room temperature for 30 minutes.  When ready, rinse your eggplant well and dry your eggplant completely.  I put mine on paper towels to remove all of the water.

In a large pan heat the canola oil (about 1 inch of oil) on medium heat while you get the eggplant ready.

Second, make a little assembly line: in 3 shallow bowls (I used pie plates) have your flour, eggs (whisked) and bread crumbs.  Working in batches, dip each eggplant slice in the flour, eggs and then breadcrumbs.  Fry your pieces in canola oil until golden brown on each side.  You will need about 2-3 minutes per side.  Please note that every time you add oil, give the oil time to heat up before adding more eggplant.  I put all my fried eggplants on paper towel lined baking sheets, I want to absorb any excess oil.  When all is done set aside.  Time to assemble the whole madness.

Heat your oven to 400 degrees F.

Using a large baking dish (9X13), start with 1/2 cup of sauce followed by eggplant slices, top with another 1 cup of sauce, shredded basil then cheese.  Repeat this twice and finish with cheese.  You may have to cut some pieces in half to make everything fit in your dish.  Cover with foil and bake in preheated oven for 30-40 minutes.  Remove foil and bake for another 10 minutes until golden brown.  I did add some more cheese once I removed the foil because I “lost” some that was stuck to the foil…I couldn’t let that happen…I love cheese A LOT!

Note: I want to remind you of a few things.  Quality does matter here, as you notice, very few ingredients are involved so use the best you have or can find.  Also please do not skip the “salting” and draining of the eggplant.  I know it’s a pain but it is SO worth it.

My second recipe is one of my little gang’s favorite:

    American Chop Suey

American Chop Suey

American Chop Suey

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lb ground beef

1 onion chopped

1 green pepper chopped (green is a must in my opinion…doesn’t taste the same with red or orange)

1 tablespoon oregano

1 tablespoon garlic powder

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon sugar

1 28-ounce can Crushed Tuttorosso Tomatoes by Red Gold

1 1-pound box elbow macaroni noodles

Salt and Pepper to taste

Shredded Cheddar cheese for serving (extra sharp at our house)

How to:

Cook noodles according to package directions…well NOT QUITE…make them until they are almost done.  We will finish in the sauce!

In a large (larger than you think), add 1 tablespoon olive oil and 1 tablespoon butter, melt and blend well together.  Add your onion and green pepper.  Cook until soft and fragrant, 3-5 minutes.  Add your ground beef and cook until no longer pink.  Add your oregano, garlic powder, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, sugar and crushed tomatoes.  Bring this to a simmer and cook uncovered for 5-10 minutes.  Taste and adjust seasoning.  Add your (almost) cooked pasta to your pan and combine everything well.  Let this cook for a few more minutes until you have the desired “pasta” texture.  To serve top with shredded cheddar and enjoy!

OK the fun part…THE GIVEAWAY!!!!

Simply answer this easy and tasty question in the comment box. What would you make with these lovely tomatoes?

Contest Ends Sunday December 16 at Midnight.  Open to US residents only.

The winner will be picked at random on Sunday the 16th of  December 2012.

Of course if you feel like sharing, tweeting, Pinteresting and/or Facebooking my fun Giveaway well….well…I would love ya fo’eva…

Thanks, over and out!

Peace and Love Peeps,

Isabelle

23 thoughts on “Red Gold Giveaway

  1. Your dishes with these tomatoes look awesome…I am not sure what I would make from them to begin with ~ maybe use them with my African sauce or lasagna or…. some eggplant dish…. We will have to see when I win them 🙂 and I will share this for sure.

  2. Oh, I LOVE tomatoes, especially juicy, ripe ones from the garden. But I use a lot of canned tomatoes when I cook as well. I love big chunks of tomatoes in my White Chicken Chili. You put them in at the very end so they don’t cook down, or change the color of the soup. Yum, yum, yum!!

  3. I love these tomatoes, my grocery just had them on sale for $1. and I bought a lot of them. Matter of fact, I just made some Pizza sauce with me and it is sitting in the fridge right now waiting to be used. I would really like to try the Eggplant dish, it looks wonderful and for the other dish, we just call that hamburger with macaroni and tomatoes.

  4. The American Chop Suey looks really, really good. I would use the tomatoes to make a dish I make quite often. My children loved it growing up and now the grand children love it–It is Pork Chops with Spanish Rice. The pork chops and Spanish rice are cooked together. A few minutes before serving, we top with green pepper rings and cheese. Delish & good for you.

  5. Red Gold is my “go to” brand of canned tomato products here in Ohio!
    I’d use this with some some evaporated milk to make a zesty soup to go with grilled cheese!

  6. Isabelle, I love your thoughts on quality ingredients in a recipe with few ingredients. So very true! I would simmer these tomatoes with fresh basil & garlic, add a pinch of sea salt & freshly ground pepper, “finish” them with a drizzle of butter or olive oil, top ’em with shaved Parmesan and call it a meal! (Well, pasta might be involved, too…)

  7. Such a practical giveaway; I love it! If I win the first thing I would do is make Creamy Chicken Tomato Soup for dinner. So easy – crock pot meal that gets devoured every time. And since I’m doing Fireside gift baskets this year, I would seriously consider getting out my pressure canner, making a good pot of marinara sauce, and adding a jar with some fun pasta to the gift baskets. The fire can be indoor, or out.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

