Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory

For this second installment of my homemade holiday treats/gifts, I wanted to touch on the “usually” forgotten savory treats.  I love to give cookies but at times, I want to give something a little more suited to each individual.  Which means that for some, sweets are not the right fit…gasp!…who doesn’t like sweets?  😉

Here are my top ten homemade savory items.

#1: Homemade Pesto: whether you make Classic Pesto, Arugula or Kale Pesto, this is a great gift full of delicious flavors.  I would usually add a high-end dry pasta (or fresh if you know they will use it soon).

Lovely Pesto...so many possibilities

Lovely Pesto…so many possibilities

#2: Cocktail Pecans: so simple to make and perfect for the Happy Hour Fanatic!  A nice bottle of wine would be a lovely touch!

Let's get a little nutty for the Holidays :)

Let’s get a little nutty for the Holidays 🙂

#3: Homemade Taco Seasoning: a little out of the box perhaps but I would include a recipe card, some homemade salsa and you have yourself a lovely gift.

I would love to receive this as a gift! By the way also GREAT in chili!

I would love to receive this as a gift! By the way also GREAT in chili!

#4: Le Creuset Bread: I would bring this to a dinner party or with some homemade jelly for a breakfast treat the day after.

gorgeous and yummy and yummy and....EASY TO MAKE!

gorgeous and yummy and yummy and….EASY TO MAKE!

#5: Smoked Salmon Dip: so many possibilities with this treat, perhaps a cute little serving dish and platter, some imported crackers, a 6-pack of cool Alaskan beer…

Lovely smoked salmon

Lovely smoked salmon dip

#6: Oat and Cheddar Crackers: in my original post, I simply cut the crackers into square little bites but you could easily change it up and get very creative with the designs.  Include a favorite bottle of wine for a special touch.

Let's be creative...little Christmas trees?  Ok maybe too cheesy...LOL...get it...oh I need to go stop typing...

Let’s be creative…little Christmas trees? OK, maybe too cheesy?…LOL…get it… cheesy….oh I need to go stop typing…

#7: Pepper Bacon Jam: they may think it’s a joke until they taste it.  Don’t forget to include the recipe…then again you may want to keep it a secret and look like a superstar!

Gorgeous and ridiculously good Pepper Bacon Jam!

Gorgeous and ridiculously good Pepper Bacon Jam!

#8: Riley and Cooper Special Treats: (dog treats!) Evidently, this is for the animal lover!  Although completely edible for humans you may want to refrain and let it be a gift for the canines.

For the animal lover in all of us...well 99% of us! ;)

For the animal lover in all of us…well 99% of us! 😉

#9: Tomato Sauce with Butter: I would make this sauce for my friends that are true Pasta Lovers.  I would include some delicious pasta, a bottle of red and a loaf of bread.

Probably not the best pic but by far the best pasta sauce EVER!

Probably not the best pic but by far the best pasta sauce EVER!

#10: Lemontini Set: Of course making the Lemontinis unless you are home won’t work but giving them all the ingredients, especially the homemade Lemon Simple Syrup, a great gift.  If you wanted to add a couple special Martini glasses, then you would be a rock star…or a martini star!

Be creative! You will be remembered!

Be creative! You will be remembered!

As always I hope you enjoyed these different holidays’ treats/gifts.  Please feel free to send me photos of your creations at isamvor@comcast.net I love to see what you guys make!

Peace and Happy Special Treating,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory

  1. This is a party in a post, Isabelle! (I love that you Included a treat for the pooch, too — and I don’t even have a dog!) 🙂 Your taco seasoning is a staple in my pantry — I use it for fajitas, taco dip, chili mac, etc — so easy to make and soooo much tastier than store-bought. Lovely gift ideas, all!

  2. ok, I had to come back and tell you, I made the doggie treats this morning, couldn’t wait to try that recipe! They’re a big hit with Biscuit and Muffin!

  3. I love these ideas, Isabelle! I must try the Pepper Bacon Jam…it sounds soooooooo amazing, and even having a puppy treat…you’ve covered it all! Great post and one stop to find something soulful!! xo Ally

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

