Ultrathin Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Ultra Thin Chocolate Chunk Cookies

I know, I just posted about a cookie the last time we spoke.  What can I tell you?  When I feel my life spiral out of control I turn to cookies!  It is sad but oh! so true.  Cookies….the ultimate perfect bite.  It has been a crazy few weeks around here and as I sit here stuffing my face with a delicious leftover monte cristo  dipped in gorgeous amber color Canadian maple syrup (courtesy of my mom and dad!) I am debating if I should share the craziness or just go straight to this sumptuous recipe!

Bottom line: work work kids husband kids work dogs chickens life….blah blah blah….

I haven’t had time to sit down and write.  I have been subbing a lot at school which I am so grateful for, especially since some of the most wonderful teachers I know have been requesting me.  I feel the love people! :)  During my stint for the French teacher this past week, while the kids did their work, I read…I read cookbooks…which is basically torture.  I have been so busy, I haven’t cooked a “real” meal in forever (or so it seems).  Thanksgiving doesn’t count in my book.  I want a slow and relaxing home-cooked meal.  That’s my therapy right there…cooking and baking.

I found this gorgeous and simply perfect book about: COOKIES! Chewy Gooey Crispy Crunchy, melt in your mouth cookies by Alice Medrich.  I had to stop putting little sticky notes on the recipes I wanted to make because as you would imagine I want to make every single one!  Here’s my first choice.

See the gorgeous chocolate peeking through?

Note: this recipe is a bit more time-consuming but for some reason when I hit a wall of stress, I find that the more complex the recipe the happier I am with the final product!  Welcome to my crazy world! 🙂

Ingredients:

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, melted

1/2 cup quick rolled oats

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar

2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon light corn syrup

2 tablespoons whole milk

1/2 teaspoon salt

7 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped into chunks, or 1 generous cup chocolate chips or chunks

How to:

Preheat the oven to 325°F.  Position racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven.

Combine the flour and baking soda in a small bowl and mix together thoroughly with a whisk or fork.

In a large bowl, whisk together the melted butter, oats, sugars, corn syrup, milk, and salt.  Mix in the flour mixture.  If the batter is warm from the butter, let it cool before adding the chocolate.  Stir in the chocolate chunks.  If possible, let the dough rest for at least several hours at room temperature or (better still) overnight in the fridge.  The rest makes for an especially crisp and extra-flavorful cookie!

Divide the dough into 15 equal pieces.  Lay out 3 sheets of aluminum foil, cut to fit your cookie sheets, on the counter.  Arrange 5 pieces of dough (4 in a square and 1 in the center) well apart on each sheet of foil, remembering that the cookies will spread to 5 inches.  Flatten each piece of dough until it is about 3 1/2 inches in diameter.  Slide two of the sheets onto baking sheets.

5 lovely friends

press and flatten…press and flatten…repeat…

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until the cookies are thin and very brown.  If they are too pale, they will not be crisp.  Rotate the pans from top to bottom and front to back halfway through the baking time to ensure even baking.  Slide the foil with cookies onto racks to cool completely before removing the cookies from the foil.  Repeat with the third batch—you can even slide the next foil and cookie dough onto a hot baking sheet as long as you put the pan in the oven immediately.  Cool the cookies completely before stacking or storing.  May be kept in an airtight container for at least 3 days.

hello heavenly cookie😉

What I love about this cookie: first off the flavor!  OMG so tasty!  I love thin cookies!  I love the oats!  I love the super crunchy texture!  I love that it makes only 15….15 gorgeous and delicious cookies!

stack of magic cookies!

Printer Friendly: Ultrathin Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Peace and Quiet,

Isabelle

Note: (yet again!) I didn’t flatten my cookies enough (in my opinion).  Next time I will!  But do as you like…you know I like you all to be “you”🙂

Come check out my recipe and more on:

4 thoughts on “Ultrathin Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  1. Isabelle, I agree with you — kitchen therapy works wonders — or magic. Magic cookies… I like that. Hope you were able to sit down long enough to enjoy one (or two… or…)😉

  2. Pingback: National Homemade Cookie Day | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

