Grandma Jones’ Pumpkin Cookies

Grandma Jones’ Pumpkin Cookies & Recipe

I can’t be trusted with recipes.  Especially if you leave them lying around.  First off, one of my biggest pet peeves is people keeping recipes a secret.  But I don’t have to go into all this right now.  This recipe wasn’t a secret per say…it was more the way I acquired it.  The thing is Grandma Georgia (Mr. Man’s paternal Grandmother) is moving into a smaller place.  Aunt Joyce has been working around the clock cleaning out, sorting, etc…Matt went and collected some boxes that could be looked through during Thanksgiving at our house, you know in case any of the children, grand children or even great grand children were interested in some of the items….well I looked through them first.  (OK OK guilty!)  I found this folder with old typed recipes….I took them all.  No, I am not ashamed.  I confessed to everyone on Thanksgiving day…after I offered them a delicious cookie!

I sat next to Grandma Georgia and showed her my delicious baking.  She was pretty happy I made them.  Especially since when Grandma Jones made them for her and Aunt Dorothy when they were about 16 she only got to have one…according to Grandma Jones, Georgia hadn’t put in a full day’s work therefore was only allowed 1 measly cookie!  I told her she could have as many as she wanted…I am nice like that!  😉

the recipe…notice the lack of directions/how to….

The page states: Pumpkin Cookies and ingredients, then it jumps to Brownies Mickey (with directions) and finally Magic Macaroons.

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ginger

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter (room temperature)

1 1/2 cup pumpkin (15-oz can)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup raisins (or craisins)

1 cup nuts chopped (pecans or walnuts)

How to:

***and this is where I had to improvise!*****

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone mat.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl combine your flour with your baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and salt.  Set aside.

In your mixer cream your butter with both your sugars.  Add your pumpkin and vanilla.  Add your dry ingredients, mix until just combined.  Fold in your raisins or craisins and nuts.  Using a medium scoop drop your cookie dough on your prepared pan and bake in your preheated oven for 14-15 minutes.

creamy pumpkiny (?!) cookie dough

smelling delish!

Let cool completely.

I think we all deserve more than just one cookie…wouldn’t you agree?!

I love the spices and the cake like texture of this delicious cookie.  So perfect for the holidays, also would make a wonderful hostess gift….especially if you come over to my house…yes please bring cookies!

Printer friendly: Grandma Jones’ Pumpkin Cookies

Peace and Don’t Leave Unattended Recipes,

Isabelle

One thought on “Grandma Jones’ Pumpkin Cookies

  1. Isabelle, I love recipes where only the ingredients are listed. (I have several casserole recipes from my hubby’s grandma that say: “Add 5 cents worth of ground beef.” (!) You did a fine job bringing these cookies to life and I’m sure your family agrees, you should be the family’s official recipe archive!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

