Gooey Cookies & Cream Bars (2 Ways)

Gooey Cookies & Cream Bars, 2 ways

You know something is good when not only your husband tells you to get the recipe from Laurie but the neighbor kid “Sassy pants” says: “you need to get that recipe from my aunt and make it for us”.  Yep, I got the recipe.  Then I texted Kristie so I could have Laurie’s number to really get all the details.  She simply emailed me the link.  Turns out, I know the blog very well: Picky Palate  Great Blog, Gorgeous Writer and Delicious Recipes!  What more should one ask for? 🙂

Of course I followed the recipe…why do you ask? well, yeah…I always mess around with recipes.  OK, you got me.  I did change it up a little.  Only because Peanut Butter and Chocolate combined is one of my weaknesses.  I did make the original recipe AND an “Isabelle” version!  Sunshine has a Lacrosse Fun Night and the girls are all going bowling.  Coach calls it Team Bonding.  I say nothing bonds a team like Gooey Cookies and & Cream Bars done 2 ways!!  Let’s party!

The Classic Recipe

Classic Gooey Cookies & Cream Bars

Ingredients:

1 box Devil Food Cake mix

1 stick butter, room temperature

1 egg

20 Oreo cookies broken into bite size pieces

1 14-ounce can sweet condensed milk

1 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degree F.  Line a 9×13 baking pan with foil and spray with cooking spray.  (I had a small fight with my foil paper…I won!)  Set aside.

In a large bowl combine your softened butter, cake mix and egg.  Using your hand, a spoon or a pastry cutter (the weapon I chose) combine your mixture until you have a soft dough.  Spread the dough into your prepared pan.  FYI…very sticky situation!

In the same bowl (why dirty new stuff, right?)  crush your Oreos into bite sized pieces.  Press down lightly on your cookies. Sprinkle on top of your dough.  Pour your condensed milk over your cookies, trying to cover the whole area.  Top with your chocolate chips.   Again gently press down on your little chips.  Put in your preheated oven for 23-25 minutes.

Let cool completely….even I followed that direction because I could tell I wouldn’t be able to cut the little devils!

Peanut Butter & Chocolate Version (yay me!)

Gooey Peanut Butter Cookies & Cream Bars

Ingredients:

1 box Devil Food Cake mix

1 stick butter, room temperature

1 egg

20 Peanut Butter Oreo cookies broken into bite size pieces

1 14-ounce can sweet condensed milk

1 1/2 cup peanut butter chips

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degree F.  Line an 9×13 baking pan with foil and spray with cooking spray.

In a large bowl combine your softened butter, cake mix and egg.  Using your hand, a spoon or a pastry cutter combine your mixture until you have a soft dough.  Spread the dough into your prepared pan.

In the same bowl crush your peanut butter Oreos into bite sized pieces.  Press down lightly on your cookies. Sprinkle on top of your dough.  Pour your condensed milk over your cookies, trying to cover the whole area.  Top with your peanut butter chips.   Again gently press down on your little chips.  Put in your preheated oven for 23-25 minutes.

Let cool completely.

A little pictorial please🙂

the crust/dough

then we put the lovely Oreos

followed by liquid love…or condensed milk…either way😉

and finally the chocolate chips

the Classic fresh out of the oven

and of course the lovely Peanut Butter version

One last look…..

Chocolate Madness

Peanut Butter Love

Printer friendly classic: Gooey Cookies & Cream Bars

Printer friendly peanut butter: Gooey Peanut Butter Cookies & Cream Bars

Note: in the original recipe it called for 14 Oreo cookies BUT the gorgeous Laurie told me she uses 20.  So my friends, since my new BFF says 20, then 20 it is.  No arguing! 😉

Another note: (yes…I know I am annoying!)  I think the possibilities of these little bars are endless.  I mean come on…cake batter, cookies and baking chips…give it a whirl my friends…or a world like I say!

By the way I am partial to Peanut Butter but honestly they both are to die for!

Peace and Be Gooey,

Isabelle

FYI…in case you have to know what you are looking for😉

2 thoughts on “Gooey Cookies & Cream Bars (2 Ways)

  1. Isabelle, both versions look like gooey goodness, but for me, it’s the “liquid love” that does it. (Great nickname for it!) Thanks for experimenting and coming up with two ways. You have done a great service… all in the name of research, of course.😉

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

