Lemon-Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

Lemon-Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

There you have it.  My favorites: Lemon.  Rosemary.  Cookies.  Although, I also love roasted chicken & pasta but I couldn’t fit either one in this cookie…I haven’t given up hope yet but I couldn’t possibly visualize a cookie with either ingredient today!

I want to share more of my Fall “Food Nerds” Menu.  Since we had a dinner party at our house last Friday night.  The meal was fairly easy but delicious.  Truth is, I really had to start with the cookies…truly the last thing I served, but I feel they deserve a standing ovation!

Note: the lovely people that were invited to our home for Supper have no clue I’ve been calling them Food Nerds…let’s keep that our little secret! 😉

these would also make a lovely hostess gift

Ingredients:

1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

3/4 cup powdered sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

2 tablespoon fresh rosemary finely chopped

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 teaspoon almond extract

Zest 1 lemon

How to:

In food processor combine butter, sugar, salt until smooth.  Add your flour, rosemary, lemon zest, lemon juice and almond extract.  Pulse until just combined.  Form dough into a log (about 8 or 9-inch long) and wrap in plastic.  Put in your freezer for about 30 minutes.

Preheat your oven to 350 degree F.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone mat.  Set aside.

In a large plate put sanding sugar (if using) to decorate the edge of cookies.

Slice your cookie dough log into 1/4-inch-thick slices.  Dip edges in sugar if desired.  Put on your prepared pans and bake in your preheated oven for 15-18 minutes until golden brown.  Let cool completely.

oven ready

and from the oven

pretty little cookies

Printer Friendly:  Lemon & Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

Peace and Nerdy,

Isabelle

My menu…in case you were ever so curious about it.  Apparently, I like to think this is of interest to you guys…please just smile and look enthralled!

Assortment of cheeses, grapes, apricot jam (from my foodie penpal!) and french baguettes.

Arugula salad, with thinly sliced pears & sprinkle of crisp pancetta with a  homemade Dijon vinaigrette.

Roulade de Boeuf (from Julia Child…with an Isabelle twist/adaption), smashed red potatoes & roasted maple Brussels Sprouts.

Gateau au Chocolat Fondant & Lemon-Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

See my recipe on here as well:

5 thoughts on “Lemon-Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

  1. I’m entirely enthralled by your menu, Isabelle! In fact, I’d gladly volunteer to be a Food Nerd (maybe I already am?!) just to experience that meal. I’m also rooting for you to come up with chicken pasta cookies. 🙂 In the meantime, your Lemon Rosemary Cookies sound wonderful!

  2. Pingback: Foodie Penpal October « Isabelle at home

  3. Pingback: Homemade Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part One: Sweets | Isabelle at home

  4. Pingback: National Homemade Cookie Day | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

