Tomato Sauce with Butter and Fresh Pasta

Tomato Sauce with Butter and Fresh Pasta (I know this pic is horrid!)

Or in Isabelle’s world: Perfection.

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love pasta, pasta with butter, fresh pasta, dried pasta, tomato sauce, pesto sauce, any sauce really, little sauce or a whole lotta of sauce, sprinkle of cheese or even a truck load…you catch my drift?

This sauce came back to me from reading Saveur Magazine.  I already knew about this sauce because it has made the rounds of every blog since the dawn of time (that might be an exaggeration!)  Listen, this sauce is a no-brainer.  It works, it’s easy, it’s scrumptious and it’s cheap.  DONE.

YET I can’t leave well enough alone.

First, I agree that the sauce, which requires a 28-ounce can of whole tomatoes, is perfect for year round satisfaction….but come on, fresh tomatoes…do we even have to discuss this?  Fresh tomatoes it is.

Second, the original recipe makes enough for 4 servings…WHAT?  no leftovers!  Double the recipe it is.

Finally, I need fresh pasta for this sauce.  Simple enough.  Fresh pasta it is.

Ingredients:

2 pounds fresh tomatoes (peeled and cut into chunks, see reference below on how to)

1 1/2 stick unsalted butter (12 tablespoons) (4 Tablespoons less than original recipe)

2 medium onions peeled and halved

1/2 teaspoon sugar

salt and pepper

How to:

Put the tomatoes, onions, sugar and butter in a heavy saucepan over medium heat.  Bring the sauce to a simmer then lower the heat to keep the sauce at a slow, steady simmer for about 45 minutes.  Stir occasionally, crushing the tomatoes against the side of the pot with a wooden spoon. Remove from heat, discard the onion*, add salt and pepper to taste.

already smells amazing

gorgeous sauce, nicely reduced and perfect for any occasion

Note: At this point I should tell you that I used my immersion blender because it seems the peeps (in fact the two teenage girls!) are “allergic” to tomato chunks.  Do as you wish, I think the sauce is good either way.

* Discard the onions!!!! WHAT!  Do yourself a favor; get a piece of crusty bread, put on a few pieces of onions and live a little!

Note: you could also use 2 28-ounce cans whole tomatoes

look at this amazing little plate of flavor!

the girls and I shared this little appetizer. AMAZING!

I decided to make Ann Burrell’s fresh pasta from her Cook Like A Rock Star cookbook.  YUMMILICIOUS!  Of course you can use your favorite store-bought fresh pasta or dry or whatever your heart desires🙂

Ingredients:

1 pound all-purpose flour (about 3 3/4 cups)

4 whole eggs, plus 1 yolk

1/4 cup olive oil

Kosher salt

1 to 2 tablespoons water or more if needed

How to:

*These are Ann’s how to…I use my dough hook in my Kitchen Aid and my pasta roller also from my Kitchen Aid (see pic)

Put the flour on a clean dry work surface.  Make a hole (this is also called a well) in the center of the flour pile that is about 8 inches wide (bigger is definitely better here).  Crack all of the eggs and the yolk into the hole and add the olive oil, salt and water.

Using a fork beat the eggs together with the olive oil, water and salt.  Using the fork, begin to incorporate the flour into the egg mixture; be careful not to break the sides of the well or the egg mixture will run all over your board and you will have a big mess!  Also, don’t worry about the lumps.  When enough flour has been incorporated into the egg mixture that it will not run all over the place when the sides of the well are broken, begin to use your hands to really get everything well combined.  If the mixture is tight and dry, wet your hands and begin kneading with wet hands.  When the mixture has really come together to a homogeneous mixture, THEN you can start kneading.

Using the heels of your palms, roll the dough to create a very smooth, supple dough.  When done the dough should look VERY smooth and feel almost velvety.  Kneading will usually take from 8 to 10 minutes for an experienced kneader and 10 to 15 for an inexperienced kneader.  This is where the perfect, toothsome texture of your pasta is formed.  Get in there and have fun!

fresh pasta is simply divine!

When the pasta has been kneaded to the perfect consistency, wrap it in plastic and let rest for at least 1 hour.  If using immediately do not refrigerate.  Roll and cut the pasta into desired shape.

that’s honestly just part of the actually mess in my kitchen! It got scary!🙂

lots of pasta!

Note: In order to peel your tomatoes you will need to boil them, put them in an ice bath and peel them.  You can follow a very helpful visual on here . (Allrecipes.com)

Sorry about the bad pictures of the actual dish, no excuses just tired and late!

Printer Friendly: Tomato Sauce with Butter

Printer Friendly: Fresh Pasta from Ann Burrell

Peace and Perfection,

Isabelle

Heck, here’s another note (because I can) I served my perfect pasta with my favorite rustic bread from Le Creuset, you could read more about it: here

Printer Friendly: Le Creuset Bread

10 thoughts on “Tomato Sauce with Butter and Fresh Pasta

  1. Man this does sound good! Not sure I could leave it alone, feel like I need to add garlic cloves and leave some of those and the onions in. And crusty bread!!?? My mouth is watering and I don’t even eat bread (much)!

  2. Pingback: Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory | Isabelle at home

  3. Pingback: What I didn’t talk about in 2012! | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

