Apple and Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Bribery.  That’s right.  I decided to make this for the ladies in the office of our middle school.  Why?  First off I want to be their favorite sub.  Second, my kid goes to school there….you never know when you might need a favor.  Also they called me in to sub IN the office, meaning not in an actual classroom….I must tell you that I was asked to sub for the ISS….what’s ISS?  In School Suspension.  Meaning I would be the watch dog!

Disturbing fact: I was so thrilled to be THAT person…no kidding.  This made my day when they asked me.  I was beyond excited about the potential of subbing for that position.  So just to make sure they understood my happiness (and hide my craziness) the decision to make them cake was a good one!  Yep that’s how I roll people!

Apple and Sour Cream Coffee Cake (with a little caramel sauce)

This recipe is from my: Everyday Food Magazine (you might remember the initial story on how I hoard them! ) This is from October 2010 #76.  I was planning on making another lovely cake from Mrs Stewart’s collection but I randomly decided to check it online because it was asking for 5 1/2 cups of flour (which in my little crazy head sounded a bit much) turns out the reviews were HORRID…well you win some and you lose some…even for Mrs Stewart!  This Coffee Cake, however, received rave reviews!  Way to save the day!

Ingredients:

For the crumb topping:

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar

1/2 cup toasted pecans, chopped

1/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon coarse salt

For the batter:

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for cake pan

2 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled), plus more for cake pan

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon coarse salt

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar

4 large eggs

1 cup sour cream

2 Winesap or Granny Smith apples (about 1 pound), peeled, cored, and diced medium

1 cup toasted pecans, chopped

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Make topping: In a medium bowl, combine butter, brown sugar, pecans, oats, cinnamon, and salt. With a pastry cutter or your hands, blend until butter is incorporated and mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Make batter: Butter and flour an angel-food cake pan or 14-cup Bundt cake pan.  In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  In another large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugars on high, scraping down bowl as needed, until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes.  Beat in eggs, one at a time, scraping down bowl after each addition.  Add sour cream and beat to combine.  With mixer on low, gradually add flour mixture and beat just until combined.  With a rubber spatula, fold in apples and pecans; transfer batter to pan.  Top with crumb topping and, with a butter knife, gently fold some of topping into batter.  Bake until a toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean, 60 to 70 minutes.  Let cool in pan on a wire rack 15 minutes, then turn out onto rack and let cool.

great start!

even better when done!

out of the mold and still in one piece…there is hope for me yet!

Note: after reading the comments on Mrs Stewart’s website I decided to make it in a Bunt Cake Pan.  Let it cool, flip it and then flip it back.  I also make a caramel sauce/drizzle as an extra incentive to love me more 🙂

like my fancy little caramel design? 🙂

I like to serve this with a caramel sauce.  It was not mentioned in the little magazine but I think it made this even more so delicious.  I like to make my own (recipe below) or you could buy your favorite at the store.  Either way it kinds of brings it all together for me.

yummy sticky caramel sauce

My caramel sauce post: my uncle’s famous caramel sauce

Printer Friendly: Apple and Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Printer Friendly (caramel sauce): Uncle Andre’s Famous Caramel Sauce

Peace and Bribery,

Isabelle

I shared my recipe on this lovely linky party please go check it out:

                 

9 thoughts on “Apple and Sour Cream Coffee Cake

  1. Dear Suckup….
    Looks yummy. I have several apples left from our orchard trip, might have to make this. Don’t know if this will be as good as those SUPER DUPER, SINFUL brownies you made us. OMG, they were awesome.

  2. Isabelle, we’ve been down the “double-check the ingredient quantities” road more than once, ha! Looks like your cooking know-how paid off big time — delicious looking cake! Sometimes common sense is the missing ingredient. Oh wait… I’m talking to the crazy ISS sub… 🙂

  3. I love this, your pan, the fact you shared this with me on Thursday’s Treasures and YOU!!! I will definitely be making this very soon! ❤ and hugs sweetness!

  4. I just made an apple sour cream cake, but yours looks so much better. And the caramel sauce if perfect. Thank you for sharing this recipe at Foodie Friends Friday.

  5. Pingback: Linguini with Lemon-Cream Sauce « Isabelle at home

  6. Pingback: Homemade Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part One: Sweets | Isabelle at home

  7. Pingback: Sesame Beef | Isabelle at home

  8. Pingback: Chocolate Chip, Oatmeal and Pecan Cookies | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

