Roasted Pepper Pork Stew

Roasted Pepper Pork Stew

I am fully aware that the whole “roasting veggies” has become an issue on my blog.  Have no fear I have started a new group: RVLA…no kidding: Roasted Vegetable Lovers Anonymous.

We meet: never

We have: no mandate

We like: everyone

We love: to roast veggies and get our grove on (geez…where did that come from!?)

I am: a bit crazy…

WARNING: this recipe is annoying.  I have no other way to describe it.  You will read it and think: “why not skip this step?”  And honestly you could but I do have a reason for my madness: FLAVOR.  That is all…flavor is everything!

Ingredients:

1 3.5-4 lbs pork shoulder-blade Boston Roast (*see note below)

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 lb peppers: you can combine any and all peppers: I had mostly sweet banana peppers, 2 green peppers, 4 jalapeno & 2 Serrano (*see note below)

2 cups cherry tomatoes

1 medium onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 1/2 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup dry white wine (or more chicken broth)

3-ounces low-fat cream cheese (or regular)

Salt and pepper to taste

Fresh cilantro for serving

Rice for serving

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone mat.  Set aside.

In a large bowl combine your peppers and your tomatoes.  Drizzle 2 tablespoons olive oil, add salt and pepper (1/2 teaspoon each, roughly) toss well and put on your prepared baking sheet.  Put in your preheated oven for 30-40 minutes.  Let cool for a few minutes, and remove stems.  Put your peppers, tomatoes and 1/2 cup chicken broth in your blender.  Puree until smooth.  Set aside.

gorgeous peppers and tomatoes

magical flavors developing

smooth operator 🙂

Prep the roast: cut the meat into cubes (approx 1-inch cube) you can trim some of the fat away if you wish.  KEEP THE BONES.  This is important because there is MAC DADDY flavor in there.  Trust me!  Set everything aside.

kind of a pain but worth the effort

Pull out a large cast iron/dutch oven/creuset…something heavy with a lid!  Add a couple tablespoons of olive oil and brown your pork in batches.  Including the bones.  Set aside in a large bowl/plate (something that will keep all the juices).  Add more olive oil, heat and add your onion and garlic.  Sautee for 3-4 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Return all your meat and the bones to your pot.  Add your wine and scrape up all the amazing flavor stuck to the bottom of your pot.  Reduce for a couple of minutes, add your roasted pepper puree and 2 cups chicken broth.  Bring to a gentle boil.  Reduce to a simmer and let this cook for 1 to 1 1/2 hour, partially covered with your lid.

Finally add your cream cheese and gently stir until melted.  At this point you may want to remove your bone and pick all the meat off and add it back to your pot.  Taste and adjust seasoning.  Serve over rice.

from start….

to finish!

fill with amazing flavors, great cozy meal for the whole family

Note about the roast: you could also keep the roast whole.  When ready you could slice it or shred it what ever you prefer.  You could serve it in tortillas or in buns…the sky’s the limit.  I just like to cube it because it really gets everything so tender and filled with flavor.

Note about the peppers: we tend to like things spicy around here.  Both of our daughters ate it with no problem.  If you prefer a milder stew simply add only 1 jalapeno and 1 Serrano, or 2 jalapeno or…again sky’s the limit.  I firmly believe it’s roasting the peppers that make a huge difference.

I absolutely love this stew.  My family loves it as well.  It is filled with lots of great flavors and it is so easy to adjust to your family’s taste for spicy food.

Printer Friendly: Roasted Pepper Pork Stew

Peace and RVLA has openings right now,

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Roasted Pepper Pork Stew

  1. I am a firm believer that pork and sweet tea are both my official blood type and without either of these “food groups” I would be in serious trouble. With that being said, I can’t wait to try this recipe, time-consuming or not. Pork shoulder (I always call it Boston Butt) is so versatile and if you cook it nice and slow, the meat is so tender and delicious. One of my favorite recipes is to place a shoulder roast in my Dutch oven (it’s actually a LeCreuset covered roasting pan), “massage” (yes, I said massage) a good handful of brown sugar into the meat, top with a can of Adobo peppers (with sauce) and pour in 4-6 cups of Dr.Pepper. Cover and cook in a 300-degree oven for 5-8 hours (depending on the size of the roast). To shred, I use my KitchenAid standmixer with the paddle attachment. I learned that trick on Pinterest. Make sure the meat is *HOT* and it’ll shred perfectly in just a few seconds.

    Now, if this dang weather in Texas would only cooperate with the season of fall (it is still a blistering 95-plus degrees), I could enjoy meals such as this wrapped up in my favorite hoodie sweatshirt watching college football. {sigh}

    Blessings to you this day! =)
    Nicole @ Three 31

  2. Isabelle, may I please join your FVLA club? (You’ll see why when my latest post hits cyberworld, lol.) Your pork stew looks fragrant, flavorful, fantastic! No skipping steps, I promise.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

