Chocolate Banana Muffins

Chocolate Banana Muffin

In my baking and cooking, as in my personal life, I try to avoid pain.  I don’t like to hear things such as: “this tastes like card board”, “I feel like I am eating a tree” or “it’s not only ugly but ugly flavors to boot”…you get the gist of it!  So when I make healthy food for my kids’ breakfast I try to make it as flavorful as possible, hence the banana and chocolate.

I like to have muffins, yogurt and fresh fruits at breakfast for my girls.  It’s quick, easy and can be prepared half asleep wearing my pineapple PJS.  🙂  I have many friends who prepare pancakes, waffles, french toast etc…ahead of time and freeze it all for an easy breakfast.  I have tried that approach a couple of times.  Unfortunately, I forget about it and it stays in my freezer for so long I end up having to throw it all out because of freezer burns.  I don’t bother with that anymore.  I hate throwing away food.  It is just not in my DNA.  There is a lot of other questionable stuff in my DNA but wasting food isn’t one of them.

What’s in my DNA?  You ask?  Well, you probably didn’t ask and now you are rolling your eyes with my non-stop sharing but I digress…where was I?
OH yea…in my DNA:  wine, cookies, claustrophobia, chips, roasted vegetables, stubborness, running, working out, running for wine, sarcasm, list making….uh….forgetfulness!

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole-wheat flour (you could do 2 cups whole wheat but I get complaints…I don’t like that)

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

3 over-ripped bananas

1/2 cup low-fat Greek yogurt

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup granola cereal (optional)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a 12 muffin pan with paper or grease generously.  Set aside.

Combine your flours, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.

In a large bowl blend your sugars, bananas, eggs, Greek yogurt and vanilla until smooth.  Add your dry ingredients, mix until well combined.  Divide your dough evenly.  Top with your granola, if using.  Bake in your preheated oven for 20 minutes.

ready for the occasion!

back from the occasion 😉

my kids like the little crunchy bits of granola…yours may not.

My girls really like these muffins.  I like it because honestly at 5:45am it’s not easy to make eggs, bacon and sautéed potatoes.  This works for us.

Printer friendly: Chocolate Banana Muffins

Peace and DNA,

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Muffins

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

