Roasted Ratatouille Lasagna

Roasted Ratatouille Lasagna

I was asked to review this recipe a few weeks ago.  Oddly enough I received 4 or 5 emails in the span of 1 week to review recipes, products and lord knows what.  I have to be honest with you guys; I don’t always care to review stuff because if I don’t like it I somewhat feel bad being brutally honest…yet I remind myself that this is why they contacted me.  I also don’t really care to fill my blog with reviews.  It is just boring to me.  TO ME!  Don’t send hate mail if you like to fill yours with reviews…more power to you!

Here’s the exception: this lasagna.

#1: it is DELICIOUS!

#2: Reader’s Digest Canada asked…my home land, the glorious Northern neighbor to my current “homeland”…how could I say no?  Well, I could have said no…but I said yes, if it had been tasteless or bad I would have not posted about it…turns out, it’s scrumptious!  As you know I have a weakness for anything roasted, which meant that I was already dreaming of this hitting all the right notes in the roasting department!

Here is where you can find this delicious recipe (and more!):  Readers Digest Canada

Ingredients:

2 large onions, cut into 1/2-inch chunks
3 medium zucchini, cut into 1/2-inch chunks
3 Asian eggplants, cut into 1/2-inch chunks
2 sweet red peppers, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch chunks
2 cups cherry tomatoes
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoon salt, or to taste
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon fresh thyme
1 head garlic, top 1/4 sliced off
Sauce
3 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
3 cups 1% milk, hot
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon Tabasco sauce
1 1/2 cups goat cheese, crumbled (12 oz)
3/4 lb  fusilli or other curly pasta
1/2 cup grated Parmigiano Reggiano

How to:

Combine onions, zucchini, eggplants, peppers and tomatoes in a large bowl.  Toss with olive oil, salt, pepper and thyme.  Spread on two baking sheets lined with parchment paper.  Wrap garlic in aluminum foil and place on one of the baking sheets.  Roast in a pre­heated 400 degrees F. oven for 40 to 45 minutes, or until tender and nicely browned.  Unwrap and squeeze garlic out of casing into vegetables.  Reserve.

that’s a LOT of veggies! I❤❤❤ roasted vegetables

For béchamel sauce, melt butter in a large sauce­pan.  Whisk in flour and cook gently 2 to 3 minutes but do not brown.  Whisk in hot milk and bring to a boil.  Add 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper or more to taste. Season with Worcestershire and Tabasco.  Cook, stirring often, about 8 minutes.  Add goat cheese.  Stir to combine.

Cook pasta in boiling, salted water for 8 to 10 minutes, or until just tender.  Drain well.  Toss with vegetables.

To assemble, spread about 1/2 cup sauce over the bottom of a buttered 9- x 13-in. baking dish.  Spread pasta/vegetable mixture over pan.  Spoon sauce over top.  Sprinkle with Parmigiano Reggiano.

Oven Ready! Already smells delicious!

Place casserole dish on a baking sheet lined with foil.  Bake uncovered for 40 to 45 minutes in a preheated 350 degree F. oven, until bubbling and lightly browned.

Beautiful crust and amazing aromas filling the house.

Review: Matt loved the dish, went back for seconds.  Didn’t even mention the fact that it is a vegetarian dish.  Sunshine and Bear also loved everything but the tomatoes (it was mentioned twice in their “report”!)  I also loved this dish, if I could only say one negative is that in my opinion it is not a “lasagna” but really a baked pasta dish…but I always fuss over such technicalities!  I love all the veggies and the goat cheese is such a great taste in the sauce!

Let’s dig in!

Printer Friendly: Roasted Ratatouille Lasagna

Peace and Be The Exception,

Isabelle

I shared my recipe on this lovely linky party, go check it out:

7 thoughts on “Roasted Ratatouille Lasagna

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

