Sweet & Sour Chicken with Sesame Noodles

I am a recipe hoarder. (not really news…I know)

In order to “lessen” the number of recipes coming into my house and never ever leaving, I decided that I needed to have my sister in law cancel one of the magazine subscriptions she sends me for my birthday.  Although extremely nice and generous to give me such a nice gift, I feel bad because it gets lost amongst all the other magazines and cookbooks I hoard.

This is even more shameful because it is Everyday Food by the amazing Martha Stewart….I know she is not everyone’s cup of tea but she is mine.  On the other hand if you all want to take Sandra Lee for me, go ahead, she is NOT my cup of tea…

*** again do not send me hate mail because I am pro- Martha Stewart and anti- Sandra Lee & Oprah Winfrey (I had to throw that out there just for kicks…I love to stir things up) Take them both they can be yours 😉

I have kept all my Everyday Food little magazines and I have decided that I should take each one and select a meal or recipe, make it and share it with you guys…the good, the bad and possibly the ugly!

Today’s selection comes from April 2005 #21

Sweet & Sour Chicken with Sesame Noodles

Sweet & Sour Chicken

Ingredients:

2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 1/2-inch chunks

3 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1 teaspoon coarse salt

1/3 cup rice vinegar

1/4 cup ketchup

4 teaspoons sugar

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

4 bell peppers (green, red, yellow, or a combination), cut into 1-inch pieces

1 cup broccoli cut into bite size (not in original recipe)

8 scallions, cut crosswise into 1-inch pieces, white and green parts separated

6 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

1/4 teaspoon ground pepper

How to:

In a large bowl, toss chicken with 1 tablespoon each soy sauce and cornstarch, salt, and pepper.  In another bowl, combine remaining soy sauce and cornstarch, vinegar, ketchup, sugar, and 1/2 cup water; set aside.

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high.  Cook half the chicken, turning occasionally, until browned and almost cooked through, 4 minutes; remove.  Cook the remaining chicken in another tablespoon oil; remove.

Add remaining oil to the pan.  Add peppers, white parts of scallions, broccoli and garlic; cook over medium-high, stirring, until peppers are crisp-tender, about 3 minutes.

Whisk soy sauce mixture; add to pan.  Return chicken; add scallion greens.  Cook, stirring, until sauce has thickened and chicken is cooked through, about 2 minutes.  Serve immediately over sesame noodles (or rice if you prefer)

Sweet & Sour Chicken (and a whole lot of it!)

Sesame Noodles

Ingredients:

Coarse salt

1 pound thin spaghetti

1/2 cup smooth peanut butter, preferably natural

1 to 2 garlic cloves

1/2 teaspoon red-pepper flakes

1/3 cup soy sauce

1/3 cup rice vinegar

2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil

1 English cucumber, peeled and halved lengthwise

2 medium carrots, peeled and shredded

How to:

In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta until al dente, according to package instructions.  Drain, and transfer to a large bowl.

Meanwhile, make peanut sauce: In a blender or food processor, blend peanut butter, garlic, pepper flakes, soy sauce, vinegar, and sesame oil until smooth. (I did this by hand because I like trouble!)

Cut cucumber crosswise into thirds; cut each piece lengthwise into 1/4-inch slices.  Stack slices; cut lengthwise into very thin strips.  Transfer pasta to a large bowl; toss with sauce, cucumber, and carrots.  Serve at room temperature.

Sesame Noodles (pardon the messy bowl and odd picture!)

You can find these lovely recipes and more: here

Verdict: Delicious but not quite spicy enough for Mr. Man and I, both kids loved everything.  It does make a LOT so keep that in mind, you may want to cut recipe in half!  I didn’t because I also hoard food…or so it seems 😉

Lots of veggies, pretty colors and much better for you than take out!

Lots of veggies, pretty colors and much better for you than take out!

Printer Friendly Sweet & Sour Chicken: Sweet & Sour Chicken

Printer Friendly Sesame Noodles: Sesame Noodles

Peace and Hoarding is BAD!

Isabelle

Recipe shared on Linky Party, go check it out:

                      

18 thoughts on “Sweet & Sour Chicken with Sesame Noodles

  1. “Recipe hoarder?!” Them’s fightin’ words! They’re all on the interwebs, Sweetie. But I keep my America’s Test Kitchen mags too long, too.

    You just keep sharing your yummy creations, Isabelle! (And throw away three issues… )

  2. Sounds like two great recipes. I’m with you, I’ll take Martha over Sandra any day! I finally took my “old” Everyday Food magazines in to our local library. They put the magazines out on a table,
    for anyone to take home.
    I have to admit, it was difficult to part with them, but at least I had cut out all the recipes I wanted
    to keep.
    Since I retired from cooking at our local Catholic school this year after 26 years, I guess I should think
    of a way to organize all those recipes…that’ll give me something to think about for the rest of the week.
    Keep those recipes coming, I’ve never been disappointed by your selections!

  3. Pingback: Apple and Sour Cream Coffee Cake « Isabelle at home

  4. Pingback: Linguini with Lemon-Cream Sauce « Isabelle at home

  5. Pingback: Sesame Beef | Isabelle at home

  6. Pingback: Chocolate Chip, Oatmeal and Pecan Cookies | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

