Chicken Saffron Rice Soup and Country Bread

Isn’t that cool? That’s my hottie hubby on the paddle board. This is the view from our friends backyard! Simply perfect!

Back home after a week-long in Florida.  What do I want to do?  Well it’s not clean my house if you were wondering but COOK…OK so you probably already knew that, but it was worth mentioning.  I have to admit that even at Dan and Janine’s I did my fair share of cooking but I still love to get back home and cook for us.  We had a wonderful time in Florida and it truly was perfect to spend time with our dear friends.  I made plenty of banana bread for my little Janine.  We had some delicious home-cooked meals.  We had fun playing Dominos….I lost a LOT…I talk too much and I tend to enjoy my wine….a LOT!  But I had fun trying…that’s the spirit, right?

Note: according to Dan I am a very sore loser but that didn’t stop him from kicking our butts almost every single game!

My first craving is soup.  Although it is so hot, humid and still feels very much like summer, I am craving soup.  Not one to ignore my craving I decided we should embrace it for supper tonight.

Note: this is enough soup for about 8-10. Feel free to cut the recipe by half.  I just love having leftover soup in the fridge for a quick-lunch.

Chicken Saffron Rice Soup with Country Bread

Ingredients:

4-5 cups cubed or shredded chicken (leftover or about 2.5 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts)

2 medium onions finely chopped

2 garlic cloves finely chopped

2 cans 14-ounces each of roasted diced tomatoes (or 1, 28-ounce, can but I can never find them) *do not drain

1 cup chopped roasted sweet red peppers (I use the jar stuff, feel free to make your own)

4 cups frozen corn (or leftover fresh)

4-5 cups low-sodium chicken broth (or homemade)

2 “big” pinches saffron

Brown or wild rice for serving (depending on how many you serve I would count on 1/2 cup cooked rice per serving)

Fresh Basil for serving, roughly chopped

How to:

In a medium pan heat your chicken broth with your 2 pinches of saffron.  Bring this to a gentle boil and reduce to a simmer for 10-15 minutes.  Keep warm until ready to use.

In a large pot or dutch oven, heat 1-2 tablespoons olive oil.  Add your onion and cook until soft and fragrant.  Add your garlic and cook 3-4 minutes more.  Add your chopped roasted red peppers, tomatoes, corn and chicken.  Stir everything well and add your reserved chicken broth.  You may choose to only add 4 cups at this time depending on how thick you like your soup.  I added all 5 cups.  Let this simmer on medium-low for about 30 minutes.

smelling delicious!

To serve, put 1/2 cup of rice in the middle of your bowl and ladle your soup around the rice.  Sprinkle with basil and add a nice slice of thick country bread.

nothing like satisfying a craving!

Speaking of bread here is the EASIEST bread to make at home.  It is so delicious and makes your house smell amazing.  From Le Creuset website: here

The Bread recipe:

Ingredients:

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon yeast
1 1/2 cups water

How to:

Get your biggest mixing bowl and mix together your flour, salt & yeast.  Pour in your water, little by little, stirring until your left with a mixture that looks like this:

starters are never really pretty 😉

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and leave it somewhere warm for about 12 hours, it’s best if you make it in the evening and leave it overnight.  When you come back you should have a bubbly mixture, about twice the size.

and look something like this

Heat the oven to 450 degrees F and put your Creuset pot (or medium size dutch oven) in to preheat for 30-45 mins.
While things are heating up, scrape your dough onto a heavily floured surface and shape into a ball.

in case you were curious!

Set aside to rest until your “creuset” is heated.
Get your “creuset” out and carefully place your dough inside.  Using your mitts, place the lid back on top and place it back into the oven.
(Note: You don’t need to oil, grease or butter the dish)
Bake for 30 mins.  Remove lid and bake for a further 15 mins.  Oh! Sweet bread heaven!  So delicious with a little bit of butter or toasted for breakfast! YUM!

seriously??? this is insanely mouth watering!

gorgeous and yummy and yummy and….

Printer Friendly (soup): Chicken Saffron Rice Soup

Printer Friendly (bread): Le Creuset Bread

Peace and Oh Dominos!

Isabelle

Go check out my recipe on this lovely linky party:

17 thoughts on “Chicken Saffron Rice Soup and Country Bread

  1. Isabelle, soup and bread are good any time of year and YOUR soup looks delicious. I liked how you plated (“bowled?”) 🙂 around the rice — what a comforting “welcome home” meal! Bet you’re glad to be back — me, too — but your friends were blessed to have you around while you were there!

  2. I can’t wait for it to get colder so I can fix some soup. It is just too hot here in the south. Soon though. The bread looks yummy! I like to do cornbread when I do soup or chili.

  3. this looks like a soup I might actually eat – because its not super brothy and has substinance! AND I have never used saffron (because Im cheap) but have wanted to….thanks for sharing!

  4. I also love soup, and would eat it all year round, although my husband prefers it only in the winter! There’s nothing I love more than cooking up a huge pot of soup so I will definitely be pinning this for later in the season! While I have never tried making my own bread, this looks so simple I may just have to try!! I will also be following you from now on 🙂

  5. Pingback: Tomato Sauce with Butter and Fresh Pasta « Isabelle at home

  6. Pingback: Foodie Friends Friday #12

  7. Pingback: Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

