Chai Banana Bread

Banananananana Bread….YIPPIE

Note: as you read this I am already in Florida.🙂 I just ran out of time to post…..

My week is getting away from me.  I have a lot going on, a lot I want to get done prior to my parents’ arrival, a lot on my mind with Janine dealing with more dreadful cancer crap (yes I said crap…cancer is crap!).  Bottom line I am on the fast track to Florida so I can help my buddy.  Mr. Man will join me shortly.  I am lucky to have such wonderful parents who come (all the way from Canada!) and stay with our daughters so I can be a friend.
Meanwhile I just had a revelation…(yes HUMOR helps me deal with stuff!)

My mom once said to me: “You know toddler years are a perfect way to show you how the kids will act/be in their teens”

SHE WASN’T KIDDING!

#1. Bathroom Privacy: May I please use the bathroom without interruptions?  Come on, I don’t need an audience, and this is NOT the right time to tell me the school’s most dramatic story of the day!

#2. My “stuff” is theirs.  My shower, my bed and all my stuff is not YOURS.  Oddly enough we have provided you with your own shower, bathroom, bed, shoes…

#3. Food.  When they are little they get weird ideas: no green food, no round food…etc..when they are teens they get weird ideas: I am only eating yogurt for the next 3 days, I am no longer a meat eater, I can only eat when it’s dark outside! WHAT?

#4. Sleep Deprivation: yours and theirs.  Yours: suddenly teens need to go to bed at 3am…meanwhile you are old and need to go to bed at 9…problem…who keeps an eye on them???  Theirs: if teens don’t get enough sleep they are nasty ugly mid-size humans!

#5. Clothes: as toddlers suddenly they cannot wear anything red (example…) as teens they can AND will wear the same darn t-shirt or pair of jeans…every single day of the week…bottom line: like toddlers somewhat GROSS!

To ease my pain and make my family forget that my mind is somewhere in the middle of Florida, I made a new banana bread.

Chai Banana Bread

Recipe from Cooking Light Magazine, found: here

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups mashed ripe banana (about 3)

1/3 cup plain fat-free yogurt

5 tablespoons butter, melted

2 large eggs

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon ground cardamom

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground allspice

1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract, divided

1/3 cup powdered sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons milk

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray (or grease if you prefer).  Set aside.

Combine flour, soda, and salt in a medium bowl.  Set aside.

Combine bananas, yogurt, melted butter, and eggs in a bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed just until blended.  Add sugars; beat at medium just until blended.  Add flour mixture to banana mixture; beat just until blended.

Combine cardamom, cinnamon, ground ginger and allspice.  Stir 1 1/2 teaspoons spice mixture and 1 teaspoon vanilla into batter.  Pour into prepared  loaf pan.  Bake in preheated oven for 65 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool 10 minutes in pan on wire rack.  Remove from pan.

Combine remaining spice mixture, remaining vanilla, powdered sugar, and milk.  Drizzle over bread.

look at the lovely “drizzeeeeling” I did🙂

Try to be patient…try…I wasn’t nor was my family.  It was like a bunch of vultures destroying a banana bread!  Delicious!

moist, with a marvelous hint of spices…give me MORE!

Printer Friendly: Chai Banana Bread

Peace and I can’t pronounce Chai,

Isabelle

10 thoughts on “Chai Banana Bread

  1. Isabelle, I’ve been having a crappy day, and this recipe plus your little confession of not being able to pronounce chai just brightened up my day. Thank you, and good luck to your friend. I think you could brighten up a friggin’ thunderstorm!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

