Grilled Radicchio Salad In My New Kitchen

I think you already know how much I love my home and being home…hence the name of my blog!  So today I decided to share with you my new kitchen.  I absolutely love it. It is simple, pretty and so functional!  All the things I love about “HOME”.

Home is a place not only of strong affections, but of entire unreserve; it is life’s undress rehearsal, its backroom, its dressing room.  ~Harriet Beecher Stowe

First let me show you the ugly truth…or the before if you will:

small/split sink, chipped and uber ugly. very small high bar area, kitchen table crowding the sliding glass door

View #2 of old news:

pale blue/pastelly counter top not nice contrast to my beautiful floor tiles! And NO backsplash 😦

In with the new….design from MOI!

built in table, can comfortably seat 5-6 peeps, makes kitchen look so open

and from a different angle:

now we can actually get to the sliding glass door without bumping into a chair!

gorgeous backsplash courtesy of Mr. Man 🙂 and notice my cool knife holder…thanks Mom and Dad!

a place of honor for the Kitchen Aid!

AND MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE:

my new sink….gorgeous isn’t it! so big and functional AND Touch2O faucet (meaning all I have to do is touch it to make it work!) SO COOL!

I hope you enjoyed this little tour!

mmmm…look at that last picture…do you see that darn dog on the couch!???   🙂

In order to reward myself and my new kitchen design (anything to reward myself, really) I decided to have a solo lunch in my new kitchen sitting at my new counter table.  On the menu:

Grilled Radicchio Salad with Fried Egg

Note: this salad is for 1 selfish person (me) multiply as you see fit.

Ingredients:

1/4 wedge radicchio

1 slice country bread

olive oil

salt and pepper

1 slice bacon, pancetta or prosciutto roughly chopped

1 egg

1-2 tablespoons freshly grated parmesan cheese (plus more for serving)

1 tablespoon olive oil

splash balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon fresh basil roughly chopped

How to:

Preheat your grill.

Cut a radicchio into 4 quarters, keep 1 and put away the rest for another great day!  Brush your radicchio wedge and bread with olive oil, add salt and pepper to all sides.  Grill your radicchio and bread on all sides until nice and toasted.  Do not leave this process unattended as it has a tendency to burn….quickly!

grilling in the mid-day sun is HOT!

When ready set aside to cool.  Meanwhile, in a small pan cook your bacon until crispy (or however you like it)  Keep bacon in pan and add your egg, cook until no longer runny.

While your egg is cooking, chop your grilled radicchio and cube your bread.  Put in a large bowl and add your 1 tablespoon olive oil, splash of balsamic (1/2 tablespoon I would guess) 1-2 tablespoons parmesan cheese salt and pepper.  Toss well to coat everything.  Put your salad on your plate and top with your fried egg.  Sprinkle your basil and more parmesan cheese.  DIG IN!

Marvelous!

my perfect bite…a little bit of everything…so yummy!

Printer Friendly: Grilled Radicchio Salad

Peace and In with the New 🙂

Isabelle

Note: I know that I have 2 wedges in my picture…I was so worried I was going to burn one and not be able to enjoy my lunch.  Needless to say I didn’t burn either one so I had both…yes I am a glutton!

Where thou art – that – is Home.  ~Emily Dickinson

26 thoughts on “Grilled Radicchio Salad In My New Kitchen

  1. I love your new kitchen and no wonder you love being home in it, It’s so roomy and bright and like this recipe too…never made radicchio salad xoxo

  2. You must feel like a Food Network chef in this awesomely gorgeous, well-laid-out brand spankin’ new kitchen! Now the family’ll never get you out of it!! Soooooooooooooooo happy for you!! xo

  3. Your kitchen is awesome. I love my home, too, and I haven’t even remodeled anything. I am proud to be a boring old homebody. Shoot. Now I don’t want to go to work…

  4. I just retired as the cook at St. Mary’s School in Aberdeen after 26 years. Even after my busiest day at school, I couldn’t wait to get home to cook or bake in my own kitchen. I have tried quite a few of your recipes Isabelle, and I love your sense of humor–really refreshing in this day and age!

  5. Oh how I wish my corner sink was as wide as yours. Only one person can stand at my sink so I’m kind of stuck doing the dishes by myself. I love your kitchen. I would love to open mine up more. s-i-g-h maybe one day.

  6. Pingback: What I didn’t talk about in 2012! | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

