Mommy Cake

Mommy Cake

If you read the title and automatically thought: is that like a “mommy drink”?  Then YES this is the post for you!

If I say mommy drink and you know exactly what I am talking about then YES you must have children…although children are not required in order to have a mommy drink but they sure make you feel like you need one 24/7, 365 days a year!

What a mommy drink is (if I must explain….!): having a drink in an inconspicuous cup (for example your kid’s school cup, your running water cup or a local gas station’s soda cup) and fill it with not only soda but mostly ALCOHOL and when someone (usually a kid) tries to drink from said cup you scream out loud: “no, no, don’t drink from that, that’s my mommy drink!”  That my friends, is a mommy drink.  Dads usually are excused from such behavior but not exempt!

I hope I haven’t let out some serious secret regarding adults drinking habits!

So this cake is in the same realm as the drink.  Alcohol and plenty of it.  I saw the idea in Tori Spelling’s new book: CelebraTORI (please don’t judge me…it had a pretty cover and I am a visual person!)  Her cake is slightly different, she makes it with wine but she does suggest to be creative and try different boozes (she said liqueurs but I say let’s be realistic and go with booze!) Since I am Captain of the Creative Alcohol Food (self appointed title) I decided to give it my best shot (no pun intened)

ingredients…simple and easy!

Ingredients:
1 Box Yellow Cake Mix (mix only)

1 3-ounce box instant pudding mix:

3 eggs

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

3/4 cup canola oil

3/4 cup Kahlua

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease or spray a Bundt Cake pan.  Set aside.

In a large bowl combine all your ingredients, mix well and pour into your prepared pan.  Bake in your preheated oven for 45 minutes.  Cool and serve.

ready, set, bake

smells so amazing!

Note: I wanted to make a Kahlua glaze to pour over my cake but alas I ran out of time and when everyone showed up the cake was pretty much history!

See:

even without a glaze this is a super delicious cake!

Please feel free to experiment with the type of alcohol in your cake.  I also thought of a “margarita theme” with tequila and maybe lime pudding?  Or Rum and custard?  So many options!

Printer Friendly: Mommy Cake

Peace and Booze,

Isabelle

See this lovely cake here as well:

7 thoughts on “Mommy Cake

  1. Ever try chocolate cake mix? I had a cake like this at a party once… and it was absolutely awesome! I had to make it myself. I’ve even made it in a microwave at work in a silicone fluted pan – it was great for a potluck!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

