High School Oatmeal Cookies

my new cookie monster t-shirt….just to prove I am still a dork!

Walk down memory lane….

I was UNCOOL (I know, I am still not the coolest cat).  I was new to this lovely high school on the last year of high school.  Yes, my parents love me…they even loved me then (even though I was a teenager!)  Yes it was torture, which is why I promised myself I would NEVER make my kids switch schools in high school.  It is quite painful just being a kid, let alone being the new kid.

The only redeeming quality I found on day one in that torture chamber was the delicious oatmeal cookies or Galettes au gruau (as they were called).  Everyday that is all I would have for lunch.  Honest, this is so sad, I would enjoy a cookie like it was my last meal.  Far be it for me to bring a healthy and delicious lunch…I mean: come on!!!!

Why I ended up there is unknown, especially since my brother was also in high school and he went to a completely different school…the one we were districted for…. mmmmm as I write all this I really have some questions for my parents when they visit us at the end of the month!

Bottom Line: the cookies.  They were so amazing and I wasn’t the only one who felt that way.  So much so that when Denise (friend from high school….yes I eventually made friends) “facebooked” me about the recipe even more friends (I made more than one!) replied on my Facebook wall regarding the famous cookies!

After much internet research (not really…I am internet lazy)  I think I put together a good replica of our school’s Oatmeal Cookies.

Oatmeal Cookies are Yummy 🙂

Ingredients:

1 cup salted butter, at room temperature

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3 cups regular oatmeal (not quick)

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line your baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone mats.  Set aside.

In a large bowl combine your flour, baking soda and baking powder.  Set aside.

In another large bowl cream your butter until soft and pale.  Add your eggs and brown sugar, combine well.  Add your flour mixture, I like to use a wooden spoon at this point but it is up to you.  Finally fold in your oatmeal.  Scoop your cookie dough on your prepared pans, gently press down on the dough and bake in your preheated oven for about 10 minutes.

Let cool completely….if you are that patient…we all know I am not!  I burnt myself, again.

at our high school the cookies were HUGE but make the size you like, just watch your baking time if you make them really big!

Printer Friendly: High School Oatmeal Cookies

Peace and High School…. :p

Isabelle

Note #1: another interesting memory just came back to me: in January of my last year I was called into the principal’s office (no I wasn’t in trouble) and they informed me I was in the wrong school.  I mean, seriously!  Come on people!  I simply told the “lady/person/who ever” that I wasn’t leaving.  Thank you and have a nice day.   Geez!  Way to torture the insecure teenager!

Note #2: I found this lovely website with Quebec Recipes: here  (beware it’s all in french!)

Share my recipe here as well:

10 thoughts on “High School Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Dear Isabelle… this post is a PERFECT example of why I love, Love, LOVE you! Both the pic, the cookies, and the commentary make me smile all over myself! xoxoxoxo
    P.S. High school was torture for me. Totally. I was a geek. 🙂

  2. Can’t wait to try these! Thank you for the recipe.

    P.S. Growing up in an Anglo environment all my life, my dad decides I have to go to french school and changed schools in sec 3 ( I had an older sister and a younger brother, all in high school and I only get transferred). First year was hard…did not know a soul! Luckily some some English and the rest is history..

  3. These look like they will kick the cookie-ass of what I’m making tomorrow with my 4-year-old niece: oatmeal and then choc chip cookies… from a bag! I know, but I’m puny and compromised and she has ADHD. They will be lovely enough, but I will think of your cookie inspiration, Isabelle.

  4. High school is tough as it is, I can’t imagine if I had to start a new school my senior year. Thankfully, we can choose to take only the good memories with us as we grow older. These cookies sound wonderful and sound perfect for my daughter’s bake sale project. Thanks for sharing and I’ll be featuring these at this week’s Thursdays Treasures. Pinned.

  5. Pingback: National Homemade Cookie Day | Isabelle at home

  6. Im sorry about your high school experience……the best gift my parents ever gave me was self confidence and independence!I loved those times….being a grown up..highly over rated.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

