White Bean Salad

I saw a recipe in my All Around the World Cookbook by Sheila Lukins for Flageolet Salad.  It looked absolutely amazing, unfortunately I cannot find Flageolet Beans anywhere in my lovely Indiana.  After a little bit of research (thank you Internet World!) I found that I could easily replace the Flageolet with Great Northern Beans.  Cool Beans (pun intended!)  Just so happens that my lovely Mr. Man is a big fan of any type of beans.

FYI Flageolet: a green kidney bean used in French cuisine (thank you Merriam Webster On-Line Dictionary)

So during the 1000 days of summer heat, I thought it would be lovely to enjoy a nice refreshing salad of beans…..why does that sound weird when I re-read it?  ANYWAY……I was inspired by Mrs. Lukins’ recipe but much like Mrs Stewart, she likes to make even the simplest recipe the most challenging event of our lives.  As you know by now…I am a fan of at home easy breezy delicious cooking.  That’s just how I roll!

The one important “ingredient” I wanted to retain from Mrs Lukins’ recipe was the prosciutto di Parma….I LOVE this stuff!  Just so happens that I have been on a small visit to our local Trader Joes and treated myself to some prosciutto!  This just makes my day!

White Bean Salad

Ingredients:

2 15.5-ounce cans Great Northern Beans, well rinsed and drained

1 medium onion finely chopped

2 garlic clove finely chopped

2 celery stalks thinly sliced

1 tablespoon fresh sage finely chopped

1/4 cup fresh flat leaf parsley roughly

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tablespoon red or white wine vinegar

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Salt and Pepper to taste

thinly sliced prosciutto di Parma, for serving (1-2 per person…you might need up to 16)

Fresh Parmesan cheese, for serving

How to:

In a large bowl combine your beans, onion, garlic, celery, sage, parsley, olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper to taste.  Combine well and put in your refrigerator for 2-3 hours prior to serving.

a few hours in the fridge just so everyone gets to know each other really well!

When ready to serve, lay 1-2 pieces of prosciutto on a plate, top with a small mound of beans salad, fresh ground pepper and sprinkle some parmesan cheese.

fresh, pretty, simple and flavorful….what more could you ask for?

Delicious!

Printer Friendly; White Bean Salad

Peace and Beans,

Isabelle

All Around the World by Sheila Lukins found: here

the “after-Matt”…he is my favorite food taster 🙂

Please go check out my recipe (and more) on the link below:

 

4 thoughts on “White Bean Salad

  1. Isabelle, your salad is a seriously wonderful upgrade of the ol’ “Three Bean Salad” recipes that circulated during summers of a “previous era” (long, long ago…) 🙂 The light dressing and touch of prosciutto make me say mmmmmmmmmm. Thanks for this!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

