Poulet aux Cerises (Chicken with Cherries)

Do you ever get mad at yourself for always making the same mistake?  I don’t mean in my case something like being clumsy, because that’s just part of my DNA.  But stupid things…in this case, keeping a recipe for years, throwing it or loosing it, only to look everywhere for it because you somehow HAVE to make it for supper tonight!  I love cherries and I love chicken!  I have cherries and I have chicken!  I can be quite single minded at times.

I swear if I could kick my own butt I would…then again I am so clumsy that would be quite the show if I tried🙂

So tonight while Matt visited with cousin Jack.  I decided to make something resembling the recipe I once saw….here goes nothing ;)  I have read the recipe a thousand times so hopefully my visual brain will keep me in line!

Poulet aux Cerises/ Chicken with Cherries

Ingredients:

8 chicken thighs with bones, skinless

1/3 cup all-purpose-flour

2 cups fresh cherries pitted

2 onions finely chopped

1/2 cup orange juice

1/2 cup low-sodium chicken broth

2 tablespoons agave syrup (or honey if you like…I don’t)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/2 teaspoon cayenne

1/2 teaspoon tumeric

1 bay leaf

Rice (for serving)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

In a small saucepan heat your orange juice, chicken broth, agave syrup, salt, pepper, ground cloves, cayenne and tumeric.

In a large dutch oven heat 1-2 tablespoons olive oil.  Dredge your chicken with your flour, shaking off the excess.  Working with 4 thighs at a time, brown on both sides.  Remove to a side plate until all done.  Once your have browned all your chicken thighs return them all to your dutch oven.  Add your chopped onions, cherries, bay leaf and warm orange juice mixture.  Cover and put in your preheated oven for 15 minutes.  Remove from oven, stir and put back in oven uncovered for 45 minutes.  Chicken should almost fall of the bones when ready.  Serve over rice or noodles.

Steps:

lovely browning, the start of something amazing😉

adding all the delicious ingredients

ready for the oven

smells amazing….looks can be deceiving!

Simple, delicious and quite different!  It was a success!  Everyone liked it….except Sunshine because she is allergic to cherries so I was a good mommy and made her roasted chicken…plain and simple🙂

gorgeous deep colors and absolutely delicious!

Printer Friendly: Poulet aux Cerises

Peace and Kick It,

Isabelle

10 thoughts on “Poulet aux Cerises (Chicken with Cherries)

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

