Angie’s Summer Salad

Angie’s Summer Salad

This is my friend Angie’s recipe.  She talked about it when we were over at their house playing cards one night.  Matt and I couldn’t get it out of our heads.  I texted her that I really wanted the recipe because I couldn’t go on living if she didn’t send it to me.  No, really! 🙂

This is also the night she convinced me to read the 50 Shades Of Gray books….we’ll see how this pans out! 🙂

NOTE: above comment is me being sarcastic because we all know I don’t read books that are recommended to me (remember I am weird like that!)….just had to clarify that! 😉

I made this salad as a meal for us but you could easily make it a side to a grilled fish or burgers and simply omit the rotisserie chicken.  It is also great for potluck suppers, it makes a very pretty presentation.  All you would have to do is put the dressing prior to serving.

Ingredients:

2-3 head Romaine lettuce

1/2 10-ounce bag Craisins

2-3 Granny Smith Apples diced (peeled or unpeeled, your choice)

1 5-ounce container crumbled Feta

1 cup toasted Pecans or Almonds (all I had was walnuts…still good!)

1 rotisserie chicken, remove all skins and bones, shred or cube the meat (or you could use about 3-4 cups leftover chicken)

Dressing:

1/2 cup red wine vinegar

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 cup sugar (I couldn’t bring myself to put that much sugar so I did 1/4 cup)

1/2 teaspoon dry mustard

1/2 tsp paprika

note: I added a touch of salt and freshly ground pepper…not in original recipe

How to:

Simply put your romaine lettuce, cut or torn into bite size pieces, into a large serving bowl.  Sprinkle all you other salad ingredients over the lettuce.
Combine all your dressing ingredients into a tight lid container (mason jar works great) and shake it like you mean it!

beautiful and colorful dressing

You can either dress your whole salad or let people put the amount they prefer….since I am a bit (!) of a control freak I decided I wanted to dress my own salad!  I am nice like that!

Using an extremely large platter or bowl makes for a gorgeous presentation

Such a delicious and easy salad.  You could certainly add or remove any ingredients according to your crew’s liking….if you are nice like that 😉

Ready to enjoy this healthy summer meal!

Printer Friendly: Angie’s Summer Salad
Peace and Like that,
Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Angie’s Summer Salad

  1. Isabelle, I’m so glad you posted this recipe. I have everything in my pantry or fridge (gee, I’m starting to sound like Ted Allen, ha!) and your timing is soooo impeccable, as always. Looking forward to trying this — thanks!

  2. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

