Double Chocolate Mascarpone Ice Cream

I have made this confession in the past but here goes again just to show you how weird and crazy I can be, let me refresh your memory….

Confession: I do not like reading books when people recommend them to me.  I especially don’t like it when they insist or go as far as giving me the book.

For example: I still haven’t read; The Help.  Why?  Because Janine gave it to me last summer and insisted I read it.  Didn’t happen.

Another example: Bear gave me her Hunger Games books and said I really really should read them before the movie comes out…did I read the books?  Nope, I even gave her back the books to which she simply replied: “Mom, you’re weird”

Let me explain that I am not being a jerk, I do trust their opinion, I value their opinion…it’s just that I think I will be so disappointed in the book that I will feel bad telling them they were wrong.  I know it is completely crazy and bizarre.  As I write this I can completely see I need psychiatric help….serious help.

YET….sometime I come out from under my craziness and actually give in to a book.  I don’t know if it is my back pain talking or the fact that I have had to lay down and do nothing but ice my back (one can only watch so much TV) but I am on Book Three of the Hunger Games series!  Yay me!

I even had a difficult time tearing myself away from the books to make ice cream.  I mean it’s excruciatingly hot and baking is not really fun so I wanted ice cream….but the books were calling me.  It was quite a mental battle…. I should just be quiet now….

Double Chocolate Mascarpone Ice Cream

Inspired by In My Kitchen by Ted Allen’s recipe for Chocolate Ice Cream

Ingredients:

3 cup heavy cream

1 cup milk (I had 2%)

1/2 cup agave syrup

1/2 teaspoon ground coffee

4 egg yolks

6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate melted

8 ounce container mascarpone cheese

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

How to:

Heat the cream, milk, agave syrup and ground coffee in a heave saucepan over medium heat until hot, do not let the mixture boil and curdle.

In a medium bowl whisk the egg yolks.  Slowly add 1 cup of the hot cream mixture in the yolks while whisking constantly.  Pour the yolk mixture into the saucepan of cream; heat, stirring constantly, until the custard thickens slightly and coats the back of a wooden spoon.  Do not let this boil or curdle.

testing testing…..

Pour the mixture through a fine mesh strainer to remove the coffee (some will remain but that’s OK).  Using a whisk add your melted chocolate and combine well.  Cover and place in your refrigerator for about 6 hours or until completely chilled.

ready to chill

Once your ice cream has cooled completely, whisk in your mascarpone cheese.  Following the directions on your ice cream maker to freeze your ice cream. Once your ice cream has reached the desired consistency, fold in your chocolate chips.

you can eat your ice cream now or put in your freezer for deep freeze, your choice!

This ice cream is super creamy and so chocolaty!  Perfect!  The addition of the coffee really enhances the chocolate flavor.  I love it!

yumminess in a bowl

Printer Friendly:  Double Chocolate Mascarpone Ice Cream

Note: this makes a lot of ice cream, you may choose to freeze in two batches.  I didn’t because as we know I am quite impatient!

Peace and Help, (not to be confused with: The Help which I haven’t read!)

Isabelle

10 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Mascarpone Ice Cream

  1. Oh, Isabelle, This looks awesome! And, I’d like to recommend a trilogy of books to you…starting w/’The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo’!! lol…no really once you get into them, you’ll be addicted!!! xox Ally🙂

  2. I haven’t read a good book in a while. My family is thankful for that. When I find a book I just can’t put down, they are pretty much on their own for breakfast, lunch and dinner and any other needs that arise.

  3. I’d skip those books too. Anything that I see people on the train reading I tend to skip.😛

    Ted Allen is HYSTERICAL! He had a sketch comedy routine making fun of celebrity chefs, where he supposedly had a “new cookbook” coming out called “Pretentious Foodie Bullshit”. Look for it. You’ll die laughing!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

