Tina’s Cake

NOTE: The post below was written last weekend.  Sadly on Wednesday morning my Maternal Grandmother passed away.  I still wanted to share with you this recipe along with this funny “story”.  I know in my heart that I have a good sense of humor because of my family, especially my grandmother who used to always say: “if you are not worth a laugh then you aren’t worth much” (maybe it makes more sense in French but you get the idea) I am so very fortunate to have a wonderful family.  Please enjoy this delicious recipe and have a good laugh along with it…I know my grandmother would!

The other night, Tina, Jennifer, Donna and I had a conversation about Spanx.  The conversation was probably in the realm of crazy but it was worth having none the less.  I learned a few things about Spanx that I shall share with you.  Don’t worry I am giving you an awesome cake recipe to make up for this mental-visual assault!

1. It seems Oprah put Spanx on “the map”.  Whatever….who’s Oprah anyway?

2. Spanx may hold things together but the “stuff” will move somewhere else!

3. You may have (like me) a battle in a public restroom trying to put yourself back together and delay the evening a good 15-20 minutes.

4. Sweat will happen in places you would have never imagined.

5. Men will never appreciate what you are doing in order to remain in your Spanx and have no visible lines in your lovely little black dress (or the color of your choosing!)

6. You will second guess your choice of Spanx….but at the end of the day just ask yourself: “where should I be smoooooth?”

7. Finally….it seems that even an “off-brand” of Spanx will suffocate you pretty much the same way!

That same night Tina made us a lovely cake that I want to share with you.  It was absolutely scrumptious, everyone took a little piece home for breakfast the next morning….right after we squeezed into our torture devices…I mean Spanx!

Tina's Cake

Tina’s Cake

Dream Fruit Torte Cake A.K.A. Tina’s Cake
Ingredients:
1 box yellow cake mix
1 cup oil
4 eggs
11oz. can mandarin oranges with juice
How to:
Preheat your oven to 300 degrees F.  Grease a 9X13 baking dish.  Set aside.
In a large bowl combine the above ingredients and pour into your prepared dish.
Bake in your preheated oven for 30 minutes.
Cool cake COMPLETELY before icing.
Note; you could made this as a Torte, meaning using 2 8 or 9-inches round pans.  Baking time will vary…I am not doing it that way because I don’t feel like it!
batter up! :)

batter up! 🙂

    lovely golden cake!

lovely golden cake!

Topping:

Ingredients:
1 20-ounce can crushed pineapple with juice
1 box package dry instant vanilla pudding
1 small tub of cool whip about 12-ounces
How to:
Combine all ingredients and smear it all over your cake.
Keep cake refrigerated.
oh so pretty! Like a little cloud of goodness

oh so pretty! Like a little cloud of goodness

Tina said in her email…and I quote: “This makes a lot, so if you are making a 9 x 13, you will not need all of the filling/icing, which leaves some for eating with a spoon!”  Gotta luv it!
Note: Here’s what I did with the leftover topping: I put it back in the cool whip tub and once I started feeling sick to my stomach because I ate too much of it I offered it to the teenagers with fruits!  There you have it: fruit dip by Isabelle…oh please, I know…I am a genius! 🙂
extra icing...I know I shouldn't be doing that :)

extra icing…I know I shouldn’t be doing that 🙂

wow...I'd say the cake was very well liked!

wow…I’d say the cake was very well liked!

Printer Friendly: Tina’s Cake

Peace and Spanx it!
Isabelle

9 thoughts on “Tina’s Cake

  1. Love this post! This cake looks delicious! Sometimes the easiest recipes are best and I too, would eat the leftover frosting! Sorry about your loss but you have wonderful memories to keep in your heart!

  2. Sorry to hear your Grandma died, but you have a lifetime of memories of her to keep you smiling.

    The Spanx story was hilarious. Laughing till you cry is always good for the soul 🙂

  3. My condolences on the passing of your grandmother.

    I have made this cake for 28 years! My husband read electric meters during his early days of working for a local utility company. One day, one of their elderly customers offered him a piece of a cake she had made. He fell in love with it and we continue to make it from time to time. The only difference is that the lady called it a “pig pickin'” cake. We never found out where the name came from but it makes for interesting conversation!

  4. I looked at the off brand Spanx to wear under my little navy dress for my daughter. I can just imagine where my rolls will go and where I will sweat. Places I’ll never tell I’m sure!

  5. Isabelle, so sorry to hear about your grandmother. May the wonderful memories of time spent with her give you peace.
    Loved the spans story! I have yet to try them, and sweat happening in places I never imagined sounds WWWAAYYYYY too unappealing!! LOL!

  6. Sincères sympathies Isabelle.
    Est-ce que ça veut dire que tu seras à Montréal bientôt?
    Sincérement, Marie-Claude.
    Encore merci pour ton blog qui me fait tant de bien à lire !

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

