Spicy Eggplant And Tomato With Poached Eggs

As you know I spend a great deal of time in my public library.  I love it in there, and for the most past it is nice and quiet….for the most part.  The other day a lady was on her cell phone in the same aisle I was (yes…the cookbook aisle…go figure, right?)  My evil eye and my super loud sighs did nothing to sway this lovely (!?) lady to turn her phone off.  Since being subtle wasn’t working, I had to do something without her wanting to “take it outside”….I mean, she can take her phone conversation outside but I didn’t want her to take ME outside!  I am too old for a scuffle!  Being the annoying library nerd that I am…I went to the front desk and tattled on her!  Yes, I sometimes act like I am in elementary school….I also went and hid in the DYI aisle while the librarian told her this was not a place for a phone conversation.

On a far more interesting note, while I was giving her the evil eye a lovely book caught my attention: “Very Fond of Food, A Year in Recipes”.  This book is by the gorgeous and talented Sophie Dahl.  Sophie Dahl was/is a model.  She is also very “English” and by that I mean she would have never sighed out loud like I did in the library. She has written a novella: The man with the Dancing Eyes, a novel: Playing with the Grown Ups.  She is a contributing editor for British Vogue and has written for countless magazines.  Her first cookbook: Miss Dahl’s Voluptuous Delight,s landed her a BBC six-part cooking series!  Bottom line she rocks!  She is beautiful, talented and will delight you with her recipes!

Here is where you can find her book: Amazon.com

I wish I could share with you all the fantastic recipes in this book, but alas I had to choose only 1!

Spicy Eggplant and Tomato with Poached Eggs

Please note that this recipe is for 2 proper people…simply use your calculator and double or triple 😉

Ingredients:

1 large eggplant

Salt and Pepper

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 garlic clove, finely chopped

1 onion, finely chopped

½ teaspoon smoked paprika

1 cup chopped tomatoes

1 teaspoon tahini

1 teaspoon brown sugar

A splash of white wine vinegar

4 eggs

1 tablespoon lemon juice

Handful fresh parsley (to be honest all I had at home today was Basil…it works!)

How to:

Cut the eggplant into bite size chunks and soak for about 20 minutes in a bowl of cold water with a few large pinches of salt.  Drain, rinse and pat dry.

Soaking is all good!

In a large frying pan, heat a tablespoon of olive oil, add the garlic and onion and cook for a few minutes until softened.  Add the eggplant along with the rest of the oil, making sure the eggplant is thoroughly coated, then add the paprika and cook on a very low heat, covered, for about half an hour, turning occasionally.  Add the tomatoes, tahini, and brown sugar and cook for another 10 minutes, mixing all through.  Taste and season accordingly.  Keep warm to the side.

from start to….

to finish!

Poach the eggs in a pan of gently boiling water (a splash of white wine vinegar should stop them separating).  You should poach the eggs for about 3 minutes if you want them soft in the middle (5 if you want them stern and unyielding).

At the last moment, add the lemon juice and parsley to the eggplant mixture.  Plate in shallow bowls and place the poached eggs on top, with perhaps a hunk of sourdough to sop up the juices.

perfectly poached eggs= liquid gold!

Need I tell you how fantastically deeeelicious this was!  I have a love for eggplant that is simply uncontrollable, but add poached eggs to the mix…oh my darling we are in business!

Please take a moment to go check out this lovely cookbook.  The photography alone is an absolutely feast for the eyes!

Printer Friendly: Spicy Eggplant and Tomato with Poached Eggs

Peace and Scuffle,

Isabelle

Come check out my recipe on these lovely sites as well:

   

12 thoughts on “Spicy Eggplant And Tomato With Poached Eggs

  1. Isabelle, this is a wonderful recipe! I love eggplant and would never think to serve it this way. Thank you for a new dish to try and the wonderful book review. Sophie Dahl sounds so charming. I’ll definitely have to check out her cookbook! 🙂

  2. Just made this for lunch and it was delicious! I made a few substitutions for ingredients that I had on hand; used coconut oil and sesame oil instead of the olive oil and tahini, and I didn’t add brown sugar as I felt it was sweet enough on its enough. So simple and yummy! I will be making this again!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

