GIVEAWAY: JBK Pottery

WINNER: Beverly Brannan Mors

Life is funny.  Things happen for a reason if you ask me.  The other day I saw on Tasty Kitchen the cutest profile pic.  Well I had to go check out who this person was.  There was a website so I clicked on it.  And there it was: JBK Pottery.  I happen to have that exact product!  My mom (Captain I find all the cool stuff everywhere) gave me a cute little pottery item that would prevent my brown sugar from hardening.  It works.  I have been using this little gadget for years.

my Brown Sugar Saver in action!

So of course, I promptly (and nerdily) sent a message to tell them how great I think their products are….so you know what these cool people did?  They sent me one to giveaway to you wonderful people!  AND, with another product that prevents pots from boiling over!  That’s how amazing life is!  I love love love to give stuff away but what I love even more is when it’s stuff thatI use and love!

So here you are, time to enter and give it a whirl! (or give it a world as I like to say!)

One lucky reader will win BOTH these cool items!

To enter: (each thing you do below is worth one entry)

1- tell me what is your favorite recipe that includes brown sugar.

1-like my page on Facebook, here: Isabelle at home Facebook page

1-subscribe to my blog (here top right hand corner…don’t forget to confirm via email)

1-like JBK Pottery on Facebook, here: JBK Pottery Facebook Page

1-sign up for their newsletter, here: JBK Pottery Website

Good Luck to ALL

Contest open to the good people of the US of A and Canada (land of Isabelle!)

Sorry overseas friends…$ is always a factor…

Contest ends: Sunday night(May 13) winner will be announced on Monday Morning

another action shot of my brown sugar saver…swimming this time!

Peace and Love,

Isabelle

36 thoughts on “GIVEAWAY: JBK Pottery

  1. I use brown sugar a lot, so trying to decide which recipe is best is REALLY difficult. Why do you make me choose?! Fine, I’ll get all technical: for a sweet treat, it’s cookie dough all the way (didn’t say cookies because the dough doesn’t “always” get baked!!!!) and for a savory treat I make a shredded pork dish that slow-cooks in adobo peppers, brown sugar, and Dr. Pepper. It’ll make you slap your Mama. Mmm Mmm GOOD

    Big hug to you!
    Nicole @ Three 31

  2. My favorite is chocolate chip cookies but my daughter recently made brown sugar cupcakes that tasted like Nestle’s Tollhouse cookies, mmmm mmmm good.

  3. Isabelle, I was looking forward to Friday (hooray) so I can play catch-up with my blog buddies, at LAST. Then, here you are with a GIVEAWAY (I didn’t come for the prizes, honest!), but, since you & JBK Pottery so generously offered…

    I already like you on Facebook and subscribe to your blog (yay), I liked JBK Pottery on FB (cool page, by the way!), and my favorite recipe with brown sugar is caramel corn. (And yes, I didn’t follow your instructions to post separate comments… one entry was all I could handle this morning.)🙂 Happy Friday, friend!

  4. My favorite recipe to use brown sugar is Nestle toll house chocolate chip cookies! I’ve liked all the facebook pages, signed up for the newsletter from JBK pottery & already am a subscriber to your blog. Thanks!

  5. My kids love this Cinnamon Bread

    Cinnamon Bread
    Ingredients for 1 1/2 pound loaf (in parentheses for 2 pound loaf)

    1 package dry yeast (same)
    1 cup lukewarm water; 80F-90 F (1 1/4 cup)
    1 1/2 tsp salt (2 tsp)
    2 Tbsp + 1 1/2 tsp packed brown sugar (1/4 cup)
    1 Tbsp + 1 1/2 tsp butter softened (same)
    3 cups bread flour,divided (4 1/2 cups)
    1 Tbsp dry milk (1 Tbsp + 1 1/2 tsp)
    1 tsp cinnamon ( 2 tsp)
    1/2 cup raisin (2/3 cup) optional
    1/2 cup walnuts (2/3 cup) optional

    Putting it all together

    1.Dissolve yeast in water.
    2.Add salt, brown sugar, dry milk, cinnamon and 1 cup flour. Beat with mixer for 3 minutes.
    3Add remaining flour and stir to form soft dough.
    4.On a lightly floured surface knead the dough for 6 minutes. To knead means to press the dough with the heel of your hand, turn the dough 1/4 of a turn then press again. Keep doing this for 6 minutes. Using a timer is helpful.
    5.Place dough in a greased bowl (I use a popcorn bowl) turning once to grease top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until double in size; about 1 1/2 hours.
    6.Punch dough down.
    7.Shape into a loaf shape. Place in greased loaf pan. (I didn’t shape mine. I just dropped it in the pan. haha) Cover and let rise until double; about 45 minutes.
    8.Place in 375F oven and bake for 40-45 minutes or until golden brown.

  6. I didn’t even know that products like this existed; how exciting. I’ve done all of the above, so here’s my, less obvious, favorite use for brown sugar:
    On a filet of Salmon, or Steelehead: Mayonnaise, Old Bay, Lemon Juice and Brown Sugar. Place it on a piece of foil that has been sprayed and salted so that the skin separates from the meat easy, tent it, and place it on the BBQ. When served with asparagus and mashed potatoes, it’s my favorite meal on earth.

  7. My favorite recipe with brown sugar…old fashioned baked beans to include 3 types of beans, brown sugar, bacon,onions, ketchup, mustard and more-Yum!

  8. I make a really good baked Hawaiian chicken with brown sugar sauce. Ingredients are pinapple, green pepper, green onion, brown sugar poured over chicken and baked at 350 for an hour, then topped with pineapple rings for serving. I liked JBK Pottery, signed up for e-mail newsletter. Already like Isabelle at home as well as signed up for blog. Will now share this on FB

  9. My favorite brown sugar recipe… would have to be brown sugar icing…. And I follow you on facebook, both through my personal page and this and that- my love of cooking and photography. I subscribe to your blog… don’t want to miss any… I have liked JBK pottery with both pages and signed up for the newsletter…. I will also be sharing this giveaway on both my pages. Thanks for this great opportunity… and the company is Canadian… another great thing about them😉. Marlys

  10. My favorite recipe with Brown Sugar, is for Snicker Bars. It is a bar cookie recipe that I change around.

    I also use cookie stamps when I make cookies for lunch at St. Mary’s school. I hand stamp each cookie. Definitely time consuming,
    but it is so worth it, when the kids come for lunch and they are all smiles🙂
    I saw some great looking stamps on JBK Pottery website, too.

  11. My favorite fall recipe with brown sugar is Acorn Squash with a dab of butter, brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice and white pepper bake until squash is soft!!!! I just love simple easy recipes!

  12. I like JBK Pottery FB page. Love this idea for Brown sugar. I have always just put a piece of bread in with the sugar.

  13. My favorite recipe with Brown Sugar is Brown Sugar pound cake and now that I had to think of all the yummy brown sugar recipes, I might just have to make if for myself for Mothers day. My gift to me. YEAH

  14. I had so much fun reading these comments!
    Thank you Isabelle, and thank you to everyone who took the time to write brown sugar recipes, too! We loved them! Now I have more to add to my list of “Wanna Tries”.
    (ps – I don’t think it was ‘nerdily’ at all!) :o)

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

