Molasses Cookies

I love my mom’s Spice Cake which includes molasses.  I have always loved molasses, must stem from my mom’s idea of a fun dessert (or so she said) when it was leftover night at our house, or breakfast for supper night, or “I haven’t gone to the grocery store yet” supper!  The dessert consisted of white bread slathered with butter and dipped in molasses.  And people thought she had a hyper-active kid…geez really?!

Regardless, I must admit that I still love the idea of such a dessert but being older (and kind of wiser) and in need of keeping single digit size pants, I don’t indulge anymore.  Which brings me to a new cookie recipe….somewhat of an oxymoron if you ask me.  I love cookies and I love to make them….I also workout a lot!  mmmmm…hyper-activity never goes away I guess!

Molasses Cookies

Ingredients:

2 cups all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

3/4 cup unsalted butter at room temperature

3/4 cup light brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup molasses

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

raw sugar to roll dough (about 1/3 cup)

How to:

Note: I would normally tell you to start preheating your oven but this recipe truly requires some chill time for your dough.  I don’t usually have the patience to wait but even I can admit it is necessary!

In a large bowl combine your flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves and ginger.  Set aside.

In your mixer cream your butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy.  Add your egg, molasses and vanilla, combine well.  Add your dry ingredients at once and mix until just combine.  Cover your mixing bowl and put in your refrigerator for 1-2 hours.  You need to chill your dough very well prior to baking.

cookie dough…always makes me happy!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone/Silpat mat.  Set aside.

Using a medium size scoop, form your cookie balls and roll in your raw sugar to coat.  Place on your prepared cookie sheets, using 2 fingers gently press on the cookie balls (just a little press not a squish!) and bake in your preheated oven for 8-10 minutes.  The cookies will look under cooked but it is a very soft cookie.  It will set when cooling.

a gently touch when pressing the cookies 🙂

oh my goodness! the aromas floating in this house are amazing!

So good!  Taste like my spice cake but in a cookie 😀  These would make amazing ice cream sandwiches! yummy!

soft, chewy and filled with amazing spices…delicious!

Printer Friendly: Molasses Cookies

Recipe adapted from allrecipes.com

these cookies are very photogenic, don’t you think? ;D

Peace and Hyper-Activity,

Isabelle

8 thoughts on “Molasses Cookies

  1. Isabelle, the Cookie Queen… you’ve done it again. 🙂 (sorry I’ve been AWOL… I can see what I’ve been missing!) By the way, GORGEOUS photos!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

