Mafe Ginaar (Peanut and Chicken Stew)

Have you ever read an article in a magazine (cooking magazine in my case) and be completely taken away by the whole article and want to cook every single recipe?  You know where this is going, right?

This is how I felt when I read an article on the food found in Senegal by Saveur Magazine.  I can’t exactly tell you why I wanted to make every single recipes but I had to start somewhere.

I know for the unadventurous type this recipe will need some convincing.  Let me first assure you that it is not only absolutely delicious but fairly easy to make.  I would say the only negative was the amount of prep time it took.  But once you start cooking,  it is pretty much hands free!  It is easy to serve and great for a large group.

Mafe Ginaar: Peanut and Chicken Stew

Mafe Ginaar: Peanut and Chicken Stew

Link to Saveur Magazine Recipe: Mafe Ginaar

Ingredients:

1/3 cup organic (no fillers) peanut butter (you could make you own but I am not going there!)

1/4 cup peanut oil (I had canola blend)

2 pound boneless skinless chicken thighs cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces

6 garlic cloves finely chopped

1 large onion finely chopped

1 Habanero or Scotch bonnet chili finely chopped (wear gloves!)

1 bay leaf

4 cups chicken stock, warm

8-ounces carrots cut into sticks (I had about 3 large)

10 okra pods halved lengthwise

1 small butternut squash peeled, halved, seeded and cut into 1-inch pieces (or 2 sweet potatoes)

1 small head green cabbage cut into 8 wedges, core left intact

1/4 cup fresh lime juice

White rice for serving

How to:

Note: I would strongly advise that you prep all your ingredients prior to starting any of this.  It will save you a lot of time and the process will go much more smoothly!  I did and it was worth it!

In a large dutch oven heat your oil and add your chicken, season with salt and pepper.  Brown chicken on all sides (10-12 minutes) and transfer to a plate.  Set aside.

DO NOT CLEAN your Dutch oven.  Add your garlic and onion and cook, stirring until soft, about 5-6 minutes.  Add tomato paste and cook while stirring until caramelized, about 2 minutes.  Add your 1/3 cup peanut butter, Habanero chili and bay leaf.  Cook while stirring until lightly toasted, about 4 minutes.  Add stock, and stir until smooth, add your reserved chicken, carrots, okra, butternut squash, cabbage and lime juice.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to a medium low and cook, covered partially and stirring occasionally, for 25 minutes.

the start of a beautiful dish!

the start of a beautiful dish!

the smell of this sauce is absolutely amazing!

the smell of this sauce is absolutely amazing!

 

all aboard! Trust me you need a big dutch oven for this one!

all aboard! Trust me you need a big dutch oven for this one!

Using a slotted spoon, transfer chicken and vegetables to a serving bowl or platter..  Continue cooking, stirring often, until reduced by half and thickened, about 12 minutes.  You may want to keep the chicken and veggies in a warm oven.  I decided to return everything to the thickened sauce and serve it this way.  Casual works for us!

everyone back in the pool!

everyone back in the pool!

To serve, spoon over rice and dig in.  DELICIOUS!

    so scrumptious and full of amazing flavors!

so scrumptious and full of amazing flavors!

Note #2: In the magazine there is an omission.  They do not tell you when to add your lime juice.  I made the executive decision to add with the vegetables.  I tried to contact the magazine but to no avail.  If you disagree with my decision simply add when you see fit!  It’s your right! 🙂

Printer Friendly: Mafe Ginaar (Peanut and Chicken Stew)

Peace and ORGANIC peanut butter,

Isabelle

Come check out where I have shared this recipe as well:

7 thoughts on “Mafe Ginaar (Peanut and Chicken Stew)

  1. Argh! You caught me starving in a jury room. It’s rainy in Los Angeles this morning, and this stew would be perfect. I can smell the peanut sauce…

  2. Most excellent, dear Isabelle! There’s no way I can resist making this! I’ll just need some help in the kitchen, and thank God that’s possible 🙂 Thank you darlin’! xoxoxo

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

