Sad Cake

I love the name of this cake.  I knew exactly why they call it Sad Cake even before I read the little note attached to it.  It is sad because it rises during baking but then falls flat afterwards.  Which in my book can only mean one thing: goodness, simple goodness.  The cake is just overwhelmed by it, so it deflates🙂

This cake couldn’t be easier to make.  I saw the recipe in a new cookbook a friend gave me.  Take a look at the cover:

Quite the title for a cookbook, isn’t it?🙂

Now that’s a friend with a good sense of humor!  I love it!  She knew I would love the book and the cover alone is worth it!

The cake can also be found on Cooks.com & Allrecipes.com.  It is the exact same recipe (with a few minor differences…for copyright I guess!) as the one in this book.  I didn’t really change a thing, I just went with it and the result was: sad…in a good way!

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups light brown sugar
4 eggs, well beaten
1/2 cup oil
2 cups Bisquick
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup nuts (pecan or walnuts)
1 (7 oz.) pkg. coconut
How to:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Grease an 9 X 13 baking pan.  Set aside.
Mix sugar and eggs, alternate oil and Bisquick, add vanilla. Stir in nuts and coconut.
Bake in your preheated oven for 45-50 minutes.

sad batter

ready for the inferno

it may be a Sad cake but it smells of happiness in this house!

Cool slightly but serve warm with french vanilla ice cream.  That’s my 2 cents on that…eat it the way you want!🙂

yummy cake🙂

Printer Friendly: Sad Cake
Peace and Sadness is good…in a cake,
Isabelle
Come check out my recipe also here:

16 thoughts on “Sad Cake

  1. LoL how funny! My friend gave me a few of those cookbooks a few years ago … “Any B can cook” and “Any B can drink” (mixed drinks). Hilarious!

  2. Allo Isabelle,

    J’ai besoin de ton aide. Dans le Oprah il y a une recette qui demande du “simple Syrup”…C’est quoi ce fameux sirop simple…..
    Merci pour tes bonnes recettes! bonne semaine
    Marie-Claude

    • 2 tasses d’eau avec 2 tasses de sucre, sur le feu, melanger et apporter a ebulition, faire refroidir, ceci est bon pour sucrer les boissons (habituellement) Je t’envoie un email🙂

  3. I believe it is called a ‘sad cake’ because it is taken to homes at the time of a death. It can be prepared with items on hand at a moment’s notice.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

