Dulce De Leche Cookies

I got this idea stuck in my head to make cookies with Dulce De Leche.  I love this stuff.  I know Nutella is all the rage but it doesn’t hold a candle to Dulce De Leche.  You don’t have to agree with me, it’s just my opinion…probably because I grew up on Nutella and Noixelle (french version of the Italian spread) so it’s not that exciting to me.  We use to make Dulce De Leche on special occasions by boiling a can of sweet condensed milk and voila! sweet caramel would appear.  Last time I told my mom I was going to make it she panicked and told me that the “news” were reporting exploding cans of condensed milk and hurt bakers. (not really but you get the idea!)  So I decided to buy the pre-made stuff and go from there.

Dulce De Leche Cookies

Dulce De Leche Cookies

I also gave in to using Dorie Greenspan’s recipe from her book: Baking From My Home to Yours

I love being creative but I also know a good recipe when I see it.  Why mess with the good stuff, right?

FYI: found in the "hispanic section" or by the condensed milk

FYI: found in the “hispanic section” or by the condensed milk

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 sticks (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup dulce de leche, plus more for filling (which means you need more than just 1 can)
3/4 cup (packed) light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment or silicone/Silpat mats.

Whisk together flour, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In your mixer, beat butter at medium speed until soft.  Add the Dulce de Leche and both sugars and continue to beat until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.  Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the dry ingredients, mixing only until just combined.

Spoon/scoop the dough onto the prepared baking sheets, using a heaping teaspoon of dough for each cookie and leaving 2 inches between them. (I would suggest you work with 3-4 baking sheets in order to cool between batches)

ready to go!

ready to go!

Put in your preheated oven and bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes.  The cookies should be honey brown with a light sugar crust, but they will be soft, so remove the sheets from the oven but don’t touch the cookies for another minute or two.  Transfer the cookies to a rack to cool to room temperature.

time to cool

time to cool

When the cookies are completely cool (and we mean completely!) , spread the flat bottoms of half the cookies with a small amount of Dulce De Leche, and sandwich with the flat sides of the remaining cookies.

    you don't need too much...it's pretty darn sweet! :)

    Sweet, moist and more sweet...perfect!

Sweet, moist and more sweet…perfect!

 

Note: I had a little meeting with myself prior to making the cookies…I wanted to cut back the sugars…I didn’t but let’s be honest I think you could easily cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and a tablespoon less of the 1/2 cup sugar…maybe next time.

Printer Friendly: Dulce De Leche Cookies

Peace and Voila!

Isabelle

Find my recipe also here:

                  

11 thoughts on “Dulce De Leche Cookies

  1. I cannot wait to make these. I will find a way to incorporate nuts. And I may try to cut back on the sugar so that I can feel better about how many I’m going to devour while my kids are at school. 🙂

  2. Be still, my heart… Isabelle’s making cookies again! Let me know how your “less sugar” research turns out. In the meantime, I’ll be prepared for a sugar-high with these.🙂

  3. These look SO GREAT! I bet my boys will eat these up as soon as they are made! Thank you so much for sharing on Thursday’s Treasures Week 31 sweetie pie! ❤ and hugs!

  4. Pingback: National Homemade Cookie Day | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

