Pepper Bacon Jam

Pepper Bacon Jam???

Pepper Bacon Jam???

Oh I know….bacon jam…it’s ridiculous….but it’s ridiculously fantasticly amazingly delicious!  I mean it’s like liquid gold…if gold was brown and bacony!

I have to admit that at first glance, probably not the prettiest thing you will look at.  BUT don’t judge the book by its cover.  The taste will blow you away.

I first heard of bacon jam on Pinterest (no kidding, right?)  I must say that at first I was thinking: “please that’s just weird”.  Then, like anything else in my life I got taken into a moment of weakness and trying to figure out an appetizer to take to our friends tonight.  So I thought: “I wonder if I make the bacon jam peppery and spicy….could that work?”  OH BOY does it work!

I did read quite a few recipes, but the one I liked best was from Dax Phillips on Tasty Kitchen, although Dax uses a crockpot and a few different spices (no jalapenos or pepper bacon).  I do like how he “attacks” the recipe.

Here is the link to his bacon jam: Simple Comfort Food

Here is the link to his bacon jam on Tasty Kitchen: Tasty Kitchen

Here’s my crazy idea:

Pepper Bacon Jam

Pepper Bacon Jam

Ingredients:

1 pound pepper bacon

1 onion diced

2 garlic gloves crushed and chopped

1 jalapeno pepper chopped

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

1/2 cup Maple syrup

3 tablespoons brown sugar

3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar (organic is best)

3/4 cup strong coffee (cooled)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

How to:

In a large dutch oven cook your bacon until crispy but not burnt.  Remove to a plate lined with paper towels to drain.  Empty all but 2 tablespoons of bacon grease from dutch oven.  Add your diced onion, garlic and jalapenos.  Cook on medium-low heat for 5-10 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Add all of your other ingredients.  Bring to a boil and add your reserved bacon.  Reduce to a simmer and cook for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, or until you have a soft and “gooey/jammy” (!) mixture.  Using an immersion blender puree your mixture until you have your desired consistency.

    After an hour or so, this is what you should see

After an hour or so, this is what you should see

    Here's the consistency I was looking for

Here’s the consistency I was looking for

Serve with a fresh baguette thinly sliced.

    sweet, peppery, slightly spicy...ALL YUMMY!

sweet, peppery, slightly spicy…ALL YUMMY!

So delicious!

Note: you could also put your jam in a food processor if you don’t have an immersion blender.

By the way, when I told Sunshine and Bear that I was taking this Bacon Jam to our friends house they were both quite disappointed….especially since I had them do a taste test, they didn’t think it was fair that it would leave our house!

Printer Friendly: Pepper Bacon Jam

Peace and Jam it up,

Isabelle

16 thoughts on “Pepper Bacon Jam

  1. Isabelle, this doesn’t sound like a crazy idea to me… it sounds heavenly! No joke! It eeeeeven has coffee in it! I already know that this stuff ROCKS!!! xoxo

  2. Bacon flavored liquid gold with a peppery kick??? Sounds fabulous!!! Liked that you paired it with a plain ol’ baguette… the simpler, the better. (Although I could imagine eating this on puff pastry, Ritz crackers, or possibly by the spoonful, too…)

  3. My mom is super excited to try this recipe! What is the yield the above recipe. Is it okay to double it?
    You mentioned something about wanting to can it. She is very interested to find out if you had success with the canning of it and if so, how did you do it? Did you use a hot water bath, pectin??? Thanks so much for you help!!!

  4. Pingback: Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory | Isabelle at home

  5. Pingback: Bacon and Peanut Butter Chocolate Truffles | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

