When in Florida: Key Lime Pie

Today we stopped at a roadside fruits/vegetables/boiled peanuts stand and the gentleman had Florida Key Limes.  As you can imagine I couldn’t pass them up.  I could already taste a delicious key lime pie in my near future.

When we got to my brother’s place he promptly pulled out every cookbook he has that might contained a recipe for this delicious pie.

Success!  And the simplest recipe I could get my hands on while enjoying my vacation…please read: enjoying a cocktail with my sister in law so I can’t be bothered to whip up a complicated recipe…come to think of it…I can never be bothered…oh well such is my life!

The Florida Keys Cookbook by Victoria Shearer

Key Lime Pie

Key Lime Pie

Ingredients:

1 graham cracker pie crust (or go ahead be ambitious and make one)

4 large eggs or 6 medium eggs

1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk

4 ounce key lime juice (5 or 6 limes depending on how juicy they are)

1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 cup sugar

How to:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Separate egg yolks from whites.  Put whites aside for use in meringue.  Place yolks in a medium bowl.  Beat with an electric mixer until frothy.  Add sweetened condensed milk and mix together.  Add key lime juice and mix again.  Pour into baked, cooled piecrust or store bought 🙂

gorgeous creamy filling

gorgeous creamy filling

To make meringue:

Thoroughly wash and dry bowl and beaters.  Place egg whites in medium bowl.  Beat with an electric mixer until medium peaks form.  Add cream of tartar and continue to beat.  Add sugar slowly and continue beating until mixture is stiff.  Spread meringue over pie, sealing it to the crust.  Bake until meringue is golden brown, about 15 minutes.  Refrigerate key lime pie until chilled.

my two little helpers put the meringue on the pie, so perfect!

my two little helpers put the meringue on the pie, so perfect!

such a gorgeous golden color!

such a gorgeous golden color!

Note: this pie is much better if it sits overnight….if you have that kind of patience!

the "impatient" serving

the “impatient” serving

Key Lime Pie

and of course the “patient” (overnight) serving!

Printer Friendly: Key Lime Pie

Where you can find this lovely cookbook: Amazon.com

Peace and Fun in the Sun,

Isabelle

Find my recipe here as well:

6 thoughts on “When in Florida: Key Lime Pie

  1. Sounds good! About how many limes did you use to make 4 oz. of juice? Also, you are missing the words “condensed milk” from your ingredients list, although it is in the directions! I am going to give this a try today.

  2. Sounds like you’re having a great vacation! It amuses me to know that you cook wherever you go. 🙂 Your reputation in the kitchen precedes you!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

