Banana Bread with Chocolate and Crystallized Ginger

Yesterday, I remembered something important: how much I love the book “A Homemade Life” by Molly Wizenberg

It’s not that I forgot about it, but simply that I hadn’t opened it in a while and marveled at the delightful reading it is.

So when I showed it to Aunt Cathy and told her she needs to read it, I remembered.   If by chance she found her way from Portland to Seattle sometime soon then she needs to go to Mrs Wizenberg’s restaurant: Delancey.   Last night I put the book on my night stand and this morning I read it…again…cover to cover.

As much as I love my Banana Bread, I feel I owe it myself to try her recipe for Banana Bread with Chocolate and Crystallized Ginger.

The fact that I happened to have Crystallized Ginger in my pantry is even strange to me….somehow my family seems to think it’s par for the course.

Banana Bread with Chocolate and Crystallized Ginger

Ingredients:

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate (or chopped semi-sweet chocolate bar, which is what I did since it looks so pretty!)

1/3 cup finely chopped crystallized ginger

2 large eggs

1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (3-4 bananas)

1/4 cup whole-milk plain yogurt (I usually have Greek…no problem)

1 teaspoon vanilla

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease or spray a loaf pan, set aside.

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt.  Add the chocolate chips (or chunks) and crystallized ginger.  Whisk well to combine and set aside.

I like the irregular chunks...go crazy with chocolate 😉

golden little nuggets of ginger

In a medium bowl, lightly beat the eggs with a fork.  Add the mashed banana, yogurt, melted butter and vanilla and stir to mix well.  Pour the banana mixture into the dry ingredients and stir gently with a rubber spatula, until just combined.  Do not overmix.  The batter will be thick and somewhat lumpy, but there should be no unincorporated flour.  Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top…if you want…I like messy tops…on BREAD!  Oh my goodness…

beautiful gorgeous batter!

mmmmm this is going to be great!

Bake in your preheated oven 50-60 minutes until you have a deep shade of golden brown.

I...I...am speechless....

Try to cool for at least 5 minutes before you decide to cut yourself a slice and burn your mouth…it’s a personal choice…I can’t wait.

simply delicious

Absolute Perfection…

Printer friendly: Banana Bread with Chocolate and Crystallized Ginger

Peace Out,

Isabelle

15 thoughts on “Banana Bread with Chocolate and Crystallized Ginger

  1. Isabelle, I enjoy Molly’s writing (and recipes) too. I also enjoy your photo captions — “…go crazy with chocolate” — 🙂 — absolutely!

  2. I made this a while back too. Loved it. My daughter accidentally bought crystalized ginger instead of powdered for a thai dish so I needed to use it. It was awesome…

  3. Mmm… I am in heaven. Can’t wait to give this combo a try! I just made Chocolate Ginger cookies this morning (Crystallized Ginger, Dark Chocolate and Molasses! oh my!)

  4. why are the people that have “””already tried the recipe not writing””””, OK it all sounds good.
    BUT more comments about the”””” results “””””!!!!!
    I can take a good picture and I can make a good write up BUT give me the taste, the outcome, the results, how many people like it or didn’t like it.
    enough about the comments of “”oh that sounds so good”” so does a vacation!!!!

    • Maria, I believe that if you read the comments a lot of people have commented on how delicious the bread was. Maybe I am misunderstanding what you are looking for?? This is a great and delicious banana bread! Give it a try! 🙂

  5. Pingback: National Zucchini Bread Day - Daily Dish Magazine

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

