Leftover Monte Cristo

I love this sandwich.  I love that you can make it with whatever you have in your refrigerator at that exact moment.  I don’t want you to be mad about the simplicity or the fact that it might not be a true recipe of a Monte Cristo per say BUT I had to share the “process” with you.  It was absolutely delicious, easy and in my opinion quite cheap to make….

Leftover Monte Cristo

Leftover Monte Cristo

So here goes….

🙂 Please note that I am giving you ingredients for one selfish sandwich, yep a selfish sandwich.  So if you want to be generous, kind and make one for say…your partner or a friend then I suggest you get a calculator (!) and double the whole kit and kaboodle!

Ingredients:

2 slices rustic bread (or whatever you have on hand…rustic is well….more rustic!)

2 slices Swiss cheese (that’s what I had today)

1 cup shredded roasted chicken or turkey (or 3-4 slices any type lunch meat you like, ham would be delicious! 😉 )

2-3 slices pear or apple (other suggestions??? go for it, but I think bananas might not work???)

1 egg

1 teaspoon fresh thyme (or whatever…)

Salt and Pepper

Butter

Maple Syrup for serving

How to:

In a shallow dish whisk your egg with fresh herbs, salt and pepper.  Set aside.

Time to build your sandwich.  Bread, 1 cheese slice, chicken, pear slices, salt, pepper, other cheese slice, other piece of bread!  Congrats, you are a sandwich maker!  😉

Doctorate in Sandwich Making

Doctorate in Sandwich Making

Dip your sandwich in your egg mixture, on BOTH sides (don’t pretend I didn’t have to share that with you…)

in the egg bath we go!

in the egg bath we go!

In a large pan (you don’t want to squish your sandwich in a small pan), melt 1 tablespoon butter.  Put your dipped sandwich in your hot pan and cook on both side for 4-5 minutes per side on medium heat.  OK here’s the deal: don’t keep touching and turning it over and over, LET THE SANDWICH BE…you can do it.  Also: DO NOT press on this sandwich too much it is NOT a panini.

you are aiming for a golden brown crust

you are aiming for a golden brown crust

Remove from pan, cut in half (genius, right?) and drizzle with your maple syrup….taste, and then taste AGAIN…simply delicious!

see how I turned the portion I ate around?  I am so clever!  No, not really.

see how I turned the portion I ate around? I am so clever! No, not really.

Note: I was so excited to eat my sandwich that I forgot my maple syrup…then I added it…then I took more pictures, yes I am that much of a nerd!

Printer Friendly (because I don’t want to get in trouble): Leftover Monte Cristo

Peace and Selfish,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Leftover Monte Cristo

  1. Dr. Isabelle, sandwich maker extraordinaire, that last photo was PERFECT. Who can resist the lure of a Monte Cristo? I love the addition of pears to this sandwich. Double YUM!

  2. Isabelle…you are adorable! I luv your writing b/c your natural voice and personality just shines! I also luv that you do makeshift things and approximates of fancy dishes…works for me, too! It’s all about what rocks your world, and this does for me! xoxo Ally

  3. Pingback: Ultrathin Chocolate Chunk Cookies « Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

