Buttermilk Brownies with Coconut-Pecan Frosting

German Chocolate Cake is Bear’s favorite cake.  I also love it but when you have a bunch of teens at your house it is much easier to serve brownies than a towering layered cake.  I know it is much more dramatic to have a high in the sky monster baked good.  Yet chocolate is chocolate and kids, teens and adult alike will eat it and not think twice about the look of it!

So for today’s friends gathering I am ordering pizza (make my life easy) and making delicious buttermilk brownies with a yummy German Frosting.

Buttermilk Brownies from: Better Homes and Garden Cookbook

Frosting: from the deep dark corners of my mind! ;)  Kidding!  I was however inspired to use Coconut milk instead of cream when I read an article in my Food Network Mag. (Great magazine by the way!)

Buttermilk Brownies with Coconut-Pecan Frosting

Buttermilk Brownies with Coconut-Pecan Frosting

Ingredients:

For the Brownies:

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 cup water

2 eggs

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

For the frosting:

1 can 13-ounces coconut milk

1/2 cup sugar (you could up the amount to 3/4 cup, I didn’t want mine very sweet)

2 eggs

1 tablespoon corn syrup

6 tablespoons butter

3/4 cup chopped pecans

1 cup shredded coconut

OR

Forget making the frosting….I hate making frosting.  Buy a nice jar/can at the store and knock yourself out!

How to:

For the brownies:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a 13X9 baking pan and set aside.

In a large bowl combine your flour, sugar, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In a medium saucepan combine butter, cocoa powder and water (1 cup).  Bring mixture to a boil, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat.  Add the cocoa mixture to the flour mixture and beat with an electric mixture (mine has the power of a 1000 men…it got ugly!)  Combine well, add the eggs, buttermilk and vanilla.  Beat for 1 more minute.  Batter will be thin.  Pour into your prepared pan.

melted chocolate smells delicious I must say!

melted chocolate smells delicious I must say!

Bake in your preheated oven for 30-35 minutes, until a wooden toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Let cool COMPLETELY before putting icing on this marvelous cakey brownie delight!

ready to chill

ready to chill

For the frosting:

In a medium saucepan combine your coconut milk and your sugar.  Using a fork (or whatever you like) whisk your eggs.  While constantly stirring (on medium heat) add your whisked eggs in a steady stream.  DO NOT stop stirring otherwise it might “cook and scramble” your eggs and then it’s over!  Add your corn syrup.  Bring this mixture to a gentle boil.  Cook for about 10 minutes until it starts to thicken.  Add your butter and combine well again, bring back to a gentle boil and cook for 5 minutes more.  Remove from the heat and pour into a large bowl.  Add your coconut and pecans.  Put a plastic wrap over your bowl and put in your refrigerator to cool completely.

Frosting ready to also chill...it's chillin' time :)

Frosting ready to also chill…it’s chillin’ time🙂

Slather all over your lovely cakey brownies!  DELICIOUS!

yummy...ready for the kiddos

yummy…ready for the kiddos

NOTE: these brownies are more cake than brownies in my opinion but either way they are delicious :)  You can call this a cake, brownies, cakey brownies….does it really matter?  I think not!

I love the texture of this brownie, so moist and rich

I love the texture of this brownie, so moist and rich

Printer Friendly: Buttermilk Brownies with Coconut-Pecan Frosting

Peace and I am not a frosting maker,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Buttermilk Brownies with Coconut-Pecan Frosting

  1. Yesterday was my husband’s birthday and I made him German Chocolate Cake (his favorite). It had filling oozing from the center layer. My 4 children (3 teenage boys) could have cared less, but it stopped me from photographing it. I wish you had posted this one day earlier🙂.
    I am still going to make him these brownies though, thank you.

  2. I love it when an idea makes you go “aha” — using coconut milk in the frosting is a FANTASTIC idea! (Why didn’t I think of that?!) Somehow I picture your house as one of the ones that teenagers love to go to — fun, great food, a positive environment.🙂 You’re the best, Isabelle!

  3. Pingback: Superbowl Grub | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

