Peppery Strawberry Daquiri

I need a drink.  I guess I should leave it at that…..but I won’t!

Don’t you get tired of drinking the same old thing?  And I don’t mean water…I mean a “DRINK DRINK”.  I love wine but even I can get bored with something I love.  So today I thought why not try something new, something fresh….something very “Friday/Saturday Nightish”.

Peppery Strawberry Daquiri

Ingredients:

3 cups fresh strawberry roughly chopped (in a pinch frozen work very well)

3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper (you can up the amount of pepper if you like it “spicy”)

3/4 cup white rum

1/4 cup triple sec

2 cups ice

Sugar for serving

Pepper for serving

How to:

In a medium saucepan combine your strawberries with your sugar, lemon (or lime) juice and pepper.  On medium heat gently stir your strawberries until your sugar dissolves and your strawberries start to break down.  You don’t have to worry if you still have chunks of strawberries because they will meet their maker in your blender!

start of something peppery🙂

the finish should (or could) look something like that!

Let this cool for a few minutes (unless you are impatient like me and just stick the whole thing in the freezer for massive cool down!)

In your blender put your strawberry mixture, ice, rum and triple sec.  Blend this until you have a smooth consistency.

I like to combine some sugar with a little bit more pepper and decorate the rim of my glasses with this mixture.  Simple “wet” the rim and dip pepper-sugar mixture.  Pour your daquiri into your decorated glasses and add a sweet strawberry as an added decoration!

isn't that pretty?

Note: this recipe can be easily cut in half.  I only made half since I can’t drink 4 daquiris…I can try, but I shouldn’t, if you know what I mean.  So Mr. Man and I each had 1, because we are good like that!

ALSO: I got in “trouble” with my Aunt Suzanne when I posted about my Dirty Martini….it seems that 6 -ounces of vodka is excessive in one drink….hopefully she will be happy with the quantities in this version ;)  I know she loves me anyway!

one more shot...not of alcohol!...I mean one more picture!

Printer Friendly: Peppery Strawberry Daquiri

Peace and Peppery Baby!

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “Peppery Strawberry Daquiri

  1. Oh my gosh this post brings back memories. I grew up drinking Virgin Daiquiri’s. My parents had Daiquiri parties making all flavors, but I haven’t had one (virgin or otherwise) for over 30 years. My mom ordered one at my son’s birthday party the other night and it made me smile. I’m intrigued by your peppery twist on this one. I am going to buy strawberries and make it. Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Isabelle, I’m staring at your BEAUTIFUL photos, thinking about a sugar/pepper rimmed glass (what a neat combo of flavors), and exclaiming, “Eureka! She’s on to something here!” Simply SPECTACULAR idea. (And ha ha, I do the “massive cool down” thing in the freezer, too…!)🙂 Have a lovely rest of the day!

  3. Dahlin’, you’re ringing my daiquiri bell! It’s one of my faves🙂 And I LUV strawberries too! Can’t go wrong with these beauties… thanks! (((hugs)))

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

