White Chicken Chili

I need a massage.

I need a pedicure.

I need a facial.

I need a manicure.

I need sunshine on my face and sand on my feet.

YES, I need Spring Break in the fiercest possible way.

YET…I am making White Chicken Chili for Matt and I’s lunch with Grandma….I wish I could be making her a tomato salad with a refreshing lemonade.  Alas I am making White Chicken Chili because it still March and “winter” after all so we need a belly warming dish!

I need a massage….still.

and this is one of the reasons why I need a massage....

and this is one of the reasons why I need a massage….

Ingredients:

2 ounce diced Pancetta (or bacon… about 2 slices)

2 tablespoons butter

1 red or green pepper diced

1 medium onion diced

2 garlic cloves crushed and finely chopped

2 tablespoon all-purpose flour

2 cup shredded chicken (leftover of any kind seems to work or when I am lazy I buy a rotisserie chicken…I was TRULY lazy today!)

1 tablespoon cumin

1 teaspoon coriander

1 teaspoon oregano

1  4 -ounce can green chilies (do not drain)

2 can navy beans or great northern beans (15.8 ounces each) well rinsed

3 1/2 – 4 cups low sodium chicken broth (depending on how thick you like your chili)

How to:

In a large Dutch Oven, cook your Pancetta until crispy but not overly done.  Remove to a side plate, DO NOT clean you Dutch Oven.  Melt your butter (if you feel you have enough “fat” in your pan you may omit this step), add your pepper and onion, cook for 3-4 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Add your garlic and cook on medium low for another 2 minutes (do not burn your garlic).  Add your flour and combine well, cook for 2-3 minutes more, this will remove the raw flour taste.  Add your chicken, cooked Pancetta (or bacon), beans, green chilies, cumin, oregano, coriander, and finally your chicken broth.  You may want to start with 3 1/2 cups and see if you want your chili more “liquidy” (I know it’s not a real word!) then add broth as you see fit.  Salt and Pepper to taste.  Simmer on medium-low heat for 30 minutes.

simmering away, it's all coming together, right here!

simmering away, it’s all coming together, right here!

Serve with a dollop of sour cream, shredded cheese and fresh cilantro.

Photo taken at Grandma's (she got a kick out of it!)

Photo taken at Grandma’s (she got a kick out of it!)

Note: some people may not like the idea of the flour in the chilli, I like my chili on the thick side…if you don’t then don’t add it and it will be more soupy…you are eating it…I eat it the way I like it!  That’s what makes the world go round.  OK, not really but in my mind, food makes the world go round…but I digress!

Printer friendly: White Chicken Chili

Peace and GET ME A MASSAGE ASAP,

Isabelle

Recipe also shared here:

6 thoughts on “White Chicken Chili

  1. I am so ready to pull out my summer recipes. Spring will not get here soon enough for me either. And I would love some sand under my feet. I would even take the mud from the lake between my toes right now. haha

  2. Ha ha ha!! You are soooooooo funny, Isabelle!! Hang in their, girrleeee, spring’s right around the corner…or have you thught about running away??? At least for a night?? LOL! xoxoAlly

  3. I said aloud yesterday that I needed a massage, and I don’t even like to be touched. I would rather have this beautiful chili of yours.

    Did I mention that we’ve had 80 degree weather for several days now?

    However, the tomatoes out here are craLp, too.

  4. Pingback: Superbowl Grub | Isabelle at home

  5. Pingback: Creamy Pork Taco Soup | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

