Roasted Carrots and Shallots Pistou

Pistou not Pesto….actually there is a difference.  Pistou is the French equivalent of Pesto.  It did originate from Italy but it is the Provence version of the Italian one without nuts.  Often served in soups, it is also delicious mixed in with pasta or on sandwiches.  I guess this is a great way to eat Pesto if you have a nut allergy!  You are quite welcome nut allergic people for my amazing definition discovery…. I am only teasing of course.

Roasted Carrots and Shallots Pistou

Roasted Carrots and Shallots Pistou

If you want to learn more about Pistou: Wikipedia.com

I decided to make this for supper tonight because…well because I want pasta but I have a craving for carrots…don’t ask, I have odd cravings and NO, I am NOT pregnant!

Ingredients:

3 large carrots peeled and cut into large chunks

3 shallots peeled and quartered

1 teaspoon fresh thyme

1 tablespoon olive oil

Salt and Pepper (about 1 teaspoon each)

1/2 cup roughly chopped fresh flat leaf parsley

1/2 cup shredded swiss or manchego or parmesan cheese (you need a firm cheese, I had manchego today)

1/2 cup olive oil

1 pound cooked pasta

How to:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line a baking pan with silpat if you want easy clean up.

In a large bowl combine your chopped carrots, shallots, thyme, salt and pepper.  Add your 1 tablespoon olive and toss well.  Put on your prepared (or not) pan and roast in your preheated oven for 20 minutes.

the veggies are ready to roast!

the veggies are ready to roast!

Roasted Vegetables make me happy...I know that's weird

Roasted Vegetables make me happy…I know that’s weird

Let this cool slightly. 5-10 minutes.

Put your roasted vegetables in your food processor, add your parsley and shredded cheese. Pulse a few times until you get medium size chunks.  You are NOT making baby food so go easy on the pulsing 😉  With the motor running on low (if possible) add your 1/2 cup olive oil and blend well.  Do not overmix unless you want it really smooth (i.e. mushy texture).

ready to pulse your carrots and shallots' socks...

ready to pulse your carrots and shallots’ socks…

tasty and such a beautiful color!

tasty and such a beautiful color!

You can prepare this ahead of time and keep in an airtight container in your refrigerator or combine immediately with hot pasta (al dente of course).

I love pasta and pistou!
I love pasta and pistou!

I love pasta and pistou!

Serve with more shaving of cheese (preferably the kind you used in your pistou)

Printer Friendly: Roasted Carrots and Shallots Pistou

Peace and Cravings,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Roasted Carrots and Shallots Pistou

  1. Sounds wonderful, Isabelle…if you haven’t discovered ‘pretzel crisps’ (from the grocery store), I”m diggin’ these w/pestos (pistou!) and hummus…they don’t break and have a nice salty bite! xoxo Ally 🙂

  2. Isabelle, I LOVE this! I’m a huge fan of pesto/pistou anyway, and I must admit it never would have occurred to me to give it the roasted carrot twist! Brilliant! I’ll probably eat it as a spread for crostini/bruschetta or “Wasa” flatbread. Love hummus, too, and tzatziki! You rock! Foodie “nerds” unite! 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

