Salmon Mornay

Little problem: I couldn’t find my copy of this recipe so I had to call my mom for hers, then I had to text Janine for the English name, then I realized I had none of the ingredients….then I had another glass of wine.

Just for your information I started my day by “moisturizing” my body at the gym with hair conditioner….no, I don’t need glasses…yes, I thought it was lotion….yes, I did have to take another shower…no, it didn’t feel quite right….yes, I am an idiot!

So it is no wonder I ended up not making a recipe I spent 2 hours researching.  Welcome to my world….yes, it is a happy place!

A few days or so later….I was ready to make this delicious dish, something my mom has made for us growing up on a weekly basis…usually when my dad wasn’t home for dinner since he hates salmon…come to think of it so does my husband….creepy.

Salmon Mornay

Ingredients:

2, 7-ounce cans salmon (about 3 cups) (you can use leftover salmon or canned salmon, I had leftover salmon)

4 hard boiled eggs thinly sliced

6 tablespoons butter

6 tablespoons flour

2 celery stalks finely chopped

2 1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon fresh thyme finely chopped

1 cup frozen peas, thawed (optional)

Salt and Pepper

6 Puff Pastry Shells (see pics)

How to:

Bake your Puff Pastry Shells and set aside. 425 degrees F. for 20 minutes.

Boiled your eggs, peel, slice and set aside.

Carefully check your salmon for bones and drain well.  Set aside.

In a large sauce pan or dutch oven, melt your butter.  Add your celery and cook for 3-4 minutes on medium low heat.  Add your flour and combine well.  Cook for 2-3 minutes, careful not to burn your flour.  Add your milk and gently bring to a boil until your sauce thickens.  Add your fresh thyme, salmon, peas and sliced eggs.  Combine well, taste and adjust seasoning.

Here's the sauce you should be looking at...or more fuzzy if you are drinking wine!

To serve: remove “lid” from Puff Pastry Shell and ladle a generous amount of your salmon mornay.  Top with the lid and serve.

the lid removal...just so there is no confusion!

Another shot...before I dig in🙂

Printer Friendly: Salmon Mornay

Peace and Please Know the Difference Between Body Lotion and Hair Conditioner….it’s worth it!

Isabelle

FYI: This is the Puff Pastry Shells (from Pepperidge Farm, found in the frozen section)

10 thoughts on “Salmon Mornay

  1. Oh your recipe could not have come at a better time! I was going to do Salmon patties tonight but was wishing for a different way to cook them. Thanks so much for the idea. I have everything but pastry shells. I think I try it over fluffy biscuits!
    Oh about the hair conditioner…I do rub it on my feet and then put on socks and go to sleep. The next morning my feet are so soft! I do this about twice a week.

  2. Isabelle, I started wanting this before I even read your post!!! (The title has been tantalizing me since I saw it this morning… Salmon Mornay… Salmon Mornay…) I LOVE salmon and would gladly eat your hubby’s portion.🙂

  3. Looks wonderful, Isabelle. We grew up with a special friend, who happened to be born and raised in France.
    She came to America as a new bride, after meeting her soldier husband there after the war. She spoiled
    us immensely with her wonderful French cooking, and your recipe is one that she served.

    Meme has been gone for many years, but I will never forget her love of family and food!

  4. I like green peas peas in almost any form, so that’s HOT. Is thiLs like a glamorous Salmon ala KIng?

    Thanks, Isabelle, for the reminder about Body Lotion and Hair Conditioner; I hope to put neither in my Salmon ala KIng

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

