Baked Brie with Roasted Mushrooms

A while back I mentioned that my doctor wanted me to avoid all dairies….evidently she is into torturing her patients.  NO DAIRY…that’s crazy talk.  I did give her the evil eye….at first she didn’t budge, so I had to come up with tears, bribery, complete tantrum in the lobby of her office, threatening to hurt the world around me…OK none of that happened but I was pretty bummed about this incredibly awful unjust torturous turn of events… so while I was away from cheese/dairy for a whole week (YES a WHOLE week!) all I could think about was new recipes for cheese.

I have been cleared to dive back into my cheese obsession for a few months now but I am still suffering the side effects of missing it for 7 loooooong days.

Excuse me?  I over-react!  Whatever….

Here is something I have been lusting over for a few weeks, I have been trying to figure out how to incorporate it into our family meals.  It’s not really working because in all reality it’s perfect for a party or cocktail hour…fine, I can make that happen.

Would it be considered bizarre to have a pretend cocktail party just for Matt and I?  Not for this chickie!

Inspired by: Camembert Cuit au Four, Champignons et Porto

Baked Brie with Roasted Mushrooms

Ingredients:

1 8-ounce wheel of Brie (at room temperature for 30 minutes)

1 tablespoon butter

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 8-ounce container mushroom, sliced (about 2 1/2 to 3 cups)

1 shallot finely diced (separated into 1/2)

1 teaspoon fresh rosemary (separated into 1/2 teaspoons)

1 teaspoon fresh thyme (separated into 1/2 teaspoons)

1 tablespoon butter (not a typo you need butter twice!)

1 1/2 cup dry red wine (something you would gladly drink…NO cooking wine)

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

Salt and Pepper

French Baguette

How to:

Making your wine reduction: In a medium size saucepan, melt 1 tablespoon butter and add HALF of your finely diced shallots, slowly cook on medium-low heat for 3-4 minutes.  Add your 1 1/2 cup wine, 1/2 teaspoon fresh rosemary, 1/2 teaspoon fresh thyme and balsamic vinegar.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer.  Cook until reduced by half, about 25 minutes.  Keep an eye on this, you don’t want it to burn, it would make the wine taste horrible.  Set aside.

Wine Reduction: start

Wine Reduction: finish....messy finish!

Making your pan roasted mushrooms: In a small pan, melt your butter with your olive oil.  Add the remainder of your finely diced shallots.  Cook on medium heat for 2-3 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Add your mushrooms, salt, pepper, 1/2 teaspoon fresh rosemary and 1/2 teaspoon fresh thyme cook on medium heat for 5 minutes until soft and lightly browned.  Set aside.

Lovely Pan Roasted Mushrooms

Making the magic (or baked brie!): Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Carefully slice the top rind of your brie and discard.  Place your brie in an ovenproof dish (not too large, you need somewhat of a tight fit), top with your pan roasted mushrooms.  Drizzle your wine reduction over the cheese and mushrooms.  Bake in your preheated oven for 15 minutes.

yummmmmmmmy

Serve with sliced baguette….oh my heavens…buttery, smooth, hot cheese….

cheesy madness? YES please!

Printer Friendly: Baked Brie with Roasted Mushrooms

Peace and 7 Long Days,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Baked Brie with Roasted Mushrooms

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

