Spiked Brownies

I almost called these “mommy brownies” but for fear that you’d think of me as a soccer mom who would be drinking on the field I opted for a more broad approach….needless to say alcohol is involved.  I do not promote “field drinking”.  Unless the other parents twist your arm and peer pressure is abundant or if you happen to live within walking distance of said soccer field and can easily go for a refill….KIDDING….

So I thought this would be fun for Euchre night, then I realized Valentine’s Day is here, then I thought also perfect for St-Patty’s Day since I am using Irish Cream…oh the possibilities 🙂

I had this great recipe from Cooking Light Magazine but as you know I can’t leave well enough alone…and since they are kind of drunken brownies I figured: “what the heck, let’s make these bad boys something ridiculously delicious!”

Here is the original (low calorie…blah blah blah who cares) : Cooking Light

Spiked Brownies

Ingredient:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1/4 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1/4 cup Baileys Irish Cream

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup Heath Toffee Bits (separated in 1/2 cup)

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1-2 teaspoons Irish Cream

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease an 8X8 or 9X9 baking pan and set aside.

Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk.  Set aside.

Place the chocolate chips and the butter in a large microwave-safe bowl.  Microwave at HIGH 1 1/2 minutes or until the chocolate chips and butter melt, stirring every 30 seconds.  Cool slightly.  Add sugar and next 3 ingredients (through vanilla extract), stirring well with a whisk.  Microwave at HIGH 1 minute or until sugar dissolves, stirring every 30 seconds.  Fold in the flour mixture, stirring just until moist.  Fold in your 1/2 cup toffee chips.  Spread batter in your prepared pan.

Oven ready 🙂

Bake at 350° for 20 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out almost clean.  As soon as your brownies come out of the oven sprinkle with your second 1/2 cup Toffee bits.  Pop back in your hot oven for 30 seconds.  Cool on a wire rack.

more goodness

Glaze (I know….I am incorrigible): Using a whisk combine your powdered sugar and your 1-2 teaspoons Irish Cream until you get a smooth consistency.  Carefully drizzle your glaze over your cooled brownies….oh my….cut and dig in!

yummy glaze...taste mighty delicious

My favorite part about these brownies is that everything is done by hand, no mixer.  I know, it’s weird that I care about that but I love it!

Irish Cream, Chocolate, Toffee....heavenly!

Enjoy 🙂

Printer friendly: Spiked Brownies

Peace and Spike it up!

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Spiked Brownies

  1. Isabelle, I should have checked your Facebook page before I made “plain ol’ brownies” last night (the e-mail version of your post doesn’t arrive in my mailbox until 12 hours later…) — DRAT! These sound incredibly decadent and I’ll be WISHING I had Bailey’s (and Heath bits!) in mine today…lol! But I’ll be counting on YOU to enjoy one (or two) of these Spiked Brownies for me (if there are any left!) Happy Valentine’s Day, sweet friend. 🙂

  2. Isabelle, I give up! I just screechin’ give up!!! Only yesterday – YESTERDAY = I promised myself that I would nevah, evah, respond to the taunting call of a new brownie recipe!!! Isn’t that ridiculous?!?!? Needless to say, this recipe in irresistible! Bailey’s and chocolate? Oh. Em. Gee. Thank you, and Happy Valentine;s Day, with love! 🙂

  3. Ya had me at ‘spiked’! I just had to see what beautiful Isabelle was secretly drinkin’ in the keeeeechin while cooking brownies! LOL! How luscious these sound!! xoxo Ally 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

