Roasted Cauliflower Soup

I hate to admit this but I was a bit panicked at the gym today.  My friend Haewon is coming over for lunch tomorrow and I hadn’t figured out what I wanted to make for our meal.  I know life is not that complicated and she is so nice she probably wouldn’t care what I made….but I care.  I want her to have a delicious lunch!  Also she has set the bar pretty high when she had me over for lunch at her place, we had a delicious tomato tart…it was absolutely perfect…..

Funny irrelevant note: I have napkins at home that say: :”who ever keeps on raising the bar should give it a rest already” funny, right…

So here is my menu:

Roasted Cauliflower Soup

Mushroom Quiche, I know how 80’s of me! (here is the link to my “classic/basic” Quiche: Mushrooms and Bacon Quiche )

Roasted Cauliflower Soup

Roasted Cauliflower Soup

Raspberry and Oatmeal Delicacy (recipe coming soon)

Ingredients:

1 cauliflower head cut into pieces

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon fresh rosemary chopped

1 medium onion diced

1 carrot chopped

1 celery rib chopped

2 garlic cloves

Splash hot sauce

4 1/2 cup vegetable broth (warm)

1 cup milk (or half and half)

Sour cream (for serving)

Shredded white cheddar cheese (for serving)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large bowl mix your cauliflower with salt, pepper, rosemary and olive oil.  Place on a baking sheet and put in your preheated oven for 30 minutes.  Set aside while you start the soup.

In a large dutch oven, saute your onion, carrot, celery and garlic in 2 tablespoons olive oil.  Cook your vegetables on medium low heat for 5-10 minutes until soft and fragrant (do not cook on high heat this might cause your garlic to burn and get really bitter which will taste awful in your soup)  Add your roasted cauliflower, splash hot sauce and warm broth.  Bring this to a boil, reduce heat to medium and let simmer for 15 minutes.  Remove from heat and using an immersion blender, puree your soup until desired consistency.  Add your cream and return to heat gently heating up your soup.  Serve with a spoonful of sour cream and a sprinkle of shredded cheese.

Easy and delicious, perfect for lunch

Easy and delicious, perfect for lunch!

YUMMO!!!!!!

Printer friendly:  Roasted Cauliflower Soup

Printer friendly for Quiche: Mushrooms and Bacon Quiche

Peace and Invite a Friend over for Lunch,

Isabelle

Find my recipe here as well:

8 thoughts on “Roasted Cauliflower Soup

  1. Ooh, this looks tasty. It actually reminds me of this garlic and potato soup that I make with my fiance a lot. It involves simmering a whole bulb of garlic (or an equivalent amount of peeled cloves) in chicken stock for a few hours. Oh so tasty. Oh, and I found my recent post on it. Here’s the most recent incarnation of this delicious soup:

    “As I’ve mentioned probably many times by now, we have a lot of peeled garlic cloves in our freezer that we got for free when a friend was moving and had to get rid of his food. I decided that tonight was a good night to make garlic soup. With a little help from Mister (who discovered some cheese that had gotten unwrapped), and a few softening potatoes, this became Cheese-y Garlic and Potato Soup. Simple really. Fry a chopped onion in bacon fat. Add a bit of flour and stir to combine. Let this cook a few minutes, stirring, until a slight golden color. Add in one carton of veg. stock (or chicken). Throw in one and a half handfuls of garlic cloves, or approximately one head of garlic. Add salt and pepper to taste. Let this cook until nice and soft. If you’re energetic, mash the garlic cloves and reincorporate. Chop a few potatoes and add to the soup. Add a teaspoon of Worcestershire Sauce. When the potatoes are about done, slice cheese and add, stirring with each addition so the cheese doesn’t clump. Adjust seasonings as needed and serve! This one meal used up: hardening cheese, soft potatoes, a lot of frozen garlic cloves, last carton of veg. stock, an ugly looking onion.”

    The way it was made using a full head of garlic involved slicing the top third off, dicing the top third and frying with the onions, and later popping the soft cloves out of the papery head and mashing them and adding them back into the soup. It’s way easier if you have pounds of frozen garlic cloves in the freezer!😛

  2. Isabelle, I lived through the 80’s too (lol) and quiche is still a favorite — this looks like the perfect soup to serve with it! Can’t imagine how WONDERFUL the aroma of the cauliflower was, roasting with the rosemary… ahhhh. I’d say you exceeded the bar, and then some!

  3. This sounds so yummy! Now I need to go get some cauliflower & cut it to bits & pieces for a yummy soup. Oh & quiche is one of my favorites…do you have a cookie to go with this meal? *wink* lol…I love your cookies, I still think about those Rolo cookies you made…OozieYUMness! I’ve pinned it🙂

  4. Pingback: Soups Round Up | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

