Jalapeno Popper Spread

I know, I know the Superbowl was yesterday…although I am not totally convinced this has anything to do with the Big Game here in Indy.  I mean it’s just a delicious spread that you can easily whip up for any occasion….well that’s my story and I am sticking to it!

Jalapeno Popper Spread

Jalapeno Popper Spread

So I avoided the Superbowl hoopla like the plague.  Why? well this might help explain….I just read in a book that when someone says: “I’m a homebody” It translate to: “I’m an agoraphobe”…… That should say a lot about the name of my blog!!!!!????

Agoraphobia:  abnormal fear of being helpless in an embarrassing or unescapable situation that is characterized especially by the avoidance of open or public places  (Thank you Merriam Webster Online Dictionary)

I would argue that I am not an agoraphobe, but then again I might have to go out in public to argue that point 😉

All kidding aside, I don’t like crowds….I can live with that!  Now I can’t live without delicious food, so here’s to that!

I found the inspiration for this spread when I read the “multitude” of dips posted on: Closet Cooking  This gentleman has not only a lovely blog and great recipes but he is Canadian…that’s just makes him cool 😉

couldn't help myself...I had to do a taste test before sharing with my peeps....

couldn’t help myself…I had to do a taste test before sharing with my peeps….

Ingredients:

1 8-ounce package light cream cheese

1/2 cup light mayonnaise

1 cup Mexican blend shredded cheese

salt

pepper

2 jalapeno chopped finely

1/4 cup diced Pancetta or bacon

1/4 cup Mexican blend cheese (no it’s not a typo it’s for the topping)

1/4 cup panko bread crumbs

How to:

In a small saucepan, cook your Pancetta until crispy but not overdone.  Spoon out your Pancetta and place on a plate with a paper towel to remove excess fat.  DO NOT drain your pan, add your chopped jalapeno and cook  on medium/low heat until soft and fragrant (about 5 minutes).  Remove to a side plate and let cool while you prepare the cream cheese mixture.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, combine your cream cheese, mayonnaise, 1 cup shredded cheese, salt and pepper.  Mix well with a wooden spoon.  Fold in your cook jalapeno.  Put your mixture in a ovenproof dish.  Set aside.

In another bowl combine your cook Pancetta, panko and last 1/4 cup shredded cheese.  Sprinkle this mixture over your cream cheese mixture.

oven ready!

oven ready!

Put in your preheated oven and bake for 20-30 minutes.  DIG IN….soooooo good and just a touch of spiciness….oh my 😉

look at that beautiful golden crust....oh and the little bits of pancetta...heaven...

look at that beautiful golden crust….oh and the little bits of pancetta…heaven…

Printer friendly: Jalapeno Popper Spread

Peace and Agorawhat?

Isabelle

14 thoughts on “Jalapeno Popper Spread

  1. I would love to add this Jalapeno Popper Spread recipe to my email recipe folder, also there are alot of others that I’ve seen that I would like to add, but their isn’t any email icon to be able to do that. Is there a way that you could add the email icon please. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Thank-you.

    • Holly, all you have to do is hit the subscribe button, it will send you an email to confirm and then you will start receiving an email when there is a new post. But in the meantime I will email you the recipe for you to keep in your folder 🙂

  2. I wouldn’t say I have agoraphobe, but I do love being at home and taking care of it and my family! Shoot, even at home I have way too many embarrassing or unescapable situations. I can’t seem to get away from them! lol

  3. Pingback: Superbowl Grub | Isabelle at home

  4. Pingback: » Skinny Bacon Jalapeno Popper Dip Sumptuous Spoonfuls

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

