Salted Caramel Nut Brittle

I am reading a book called Whateverland by Alexis Stewart and Jennifer Copperland , yes that would be Martha Stewart’s daughter.  She is something else….I mean that’s the only way I can describe her.  She is at times very much her mother’s daughter and at times a total opposite…aren’t we all.  My point is that reading this book reminded me to get out of my comfort zone.  Some of you know my LOVE of cookies….but as much as I love making cookies I cannot stand to make candies.  I don’t know what it is about a candy thermometer but we just don’t get along.  I can’t read it, I get frustrated and end up burning the sweet little magical morsels.

SO I decided to try again.  Why? Because I love to complicate my life?  No, not really but I do love everything sweet and salty, this recipe is right up my alley…not the candy alley but still….

Wish me luck!

Recipe found in: Inspired Magazine, which is my mom’s grocery store flyer/magazine that she picks up for me (she loves me!)

Here is their website: Inspired.ca

Salted Caramel Nut Brittle

Ingredients:

1/2 cup shelled, salted macadamia nuts, chopped

1/2 cup shelled pistachios, chopped

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup corn syrup

1/4 cup water

2 tablespoons butter (salted)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1  teaspoon coarse sea salt

How to:

Toast chopped macadamia nuts in a dry skillet over medium heat until lightly golden and fragrant, about 5 minutes.  Mix in pistachios.  Set aside.  Grease a large baking sheet with butter.  Set aside.

In a medium-size heavy saucepan, combine sugar, corn syrup and water over medium heat.  Stir occasionally until dissolved, then cook without stirring, for about 10 minutes until “soft ball” stage or the candy thermometer reads 234 degree F (112 degree C)

***note: this is where I get in trouble….so I set a timer to help my patience!  I tend to rush and turn up the heat which is not a good idea!

Stir butter into sugar mixture and cook 10 to 15 minutes longer, until “hard crack” stage or a candy thermometer reads 300 degree F (150 degree C)  Remove from heat.

somewhere along the way.....

Working quickly (and in my experience they mean REALLY quickly!) use a heatproof spatula to stir in vanilla, nuts and baking soda and pour onto prepared baking sheet, spreading evenly.  Sprinkle with salt.  Cool completely before breaking into pieces.

quite the spread wouldn't you say? 😉

Outcome: well I was successful for once.  I didn’t burn anything and it tastes really good.  The only thing I would do differently is maybe add another 1/2 cup nuts and spread my mixture a little thinner.

crunchy, sweet and salty....oh and it sticks to your teeth like crazy!

Printer friendly: Salted Caramel Nut Brittle

Note: In my humble opinion, a candy thermometer is a must….just because I can’t judge the stages otherwise! 🙂

candy thermometers have very useful info on them!

Peace and Brittle,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Nut Brittle

  1. I totally agree about getting out of your comfort zone, Isabelle! I’m doing that w/bread making! The brittle looks awesome…love the pistachios, and the sweet and salty…oh, yeah!! Ally xoox

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

